Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Super good.. i added twice the broth but i big on broth. great flavor so easy and cheap. loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This a great soup - very flavorful, tasty and fast! I have cooked it for a few years now and never get tired of it. I only omit the pepper because my kids don't like spicy. I double the cumin as others have recommended and never blend the soup. The lemon and the cumin make this soup, I make sure to use both of them as fresh as I can. It also freezes well for those nights when you need to feed little ones quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
My husband ate most of the soup in one evening. I happened to make it on a cold, rainy day, so it was very comforting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Oh boy this is good and EASY! I used brown lentils instead of red (don't think it really matters) and I increased the cumin and the lemon juice during pureeing until I was happy with the flavour - no real science behind it. Also added extra broth because after pureeing I found the soup to be too thick. Instead of cayenne I used home-made chili powder that I made from chilis I grew in my garden. We don't use cilantro in my household so I substituted with parsley, which in my opinion is more traditionally middle eastern. Sounds like I deviated a lot but really I didn't, just tweaked here and there to my liking. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I love lentil soup. But not this one. The lemon juice is overpowering, and I don't care for the cumin in this soup. I will not make this again, but stick with the excellent Greek Lentil Soup recipe that I found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
My family and I love this recipe.It reminds me of the food I had in Syria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wanderinggypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rich
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I used a lot more garlic, a lot more cumin, added orange bell pepper, and ground turkey... Phenomenal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Love, love this soup it's been a staple in my house for a few years now. I make it exactly like it says and don't forget the lemon. I also add fresh spinach, kale and sausage links when I need more. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I loved this! My family hated it. Because of that I had to give it 3 stars. Definitely add the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Losurdo Cassidy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I forgot to mention in my previous review that I did not include the cilantro since I do not like cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States