Lebanese Lemon Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I didn't follow the proportions exactly (the more carrots the merrier!) and I added some potatoes I had lying around, but the soup turned out fantastic! Absolutely scrumptious! Also, I didn't do the optional flour/butter thing. It seemed unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Delicious used brown lentils and substituted celery seed for the celery.I only used 1/2 c of flour. Served with warm pita bread and fresh sliced lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Ive made this recipe for ten years. There are no shenanigans! (: i did, however, make a mistake on the flour. There should be a bit less, and there needs to be a bit more liquid than i wrote. Chicken stick is my fav, but reduce your salt if you use it! Thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettfox

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Photo by Ebbergine
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made this mostly to the recipe, except that I used less than 1 cup of flour after reading other reviews. I used about a quarter cup and toasted it in a dry pan as another review recommended, then added in about 2.5 T of butter to make a thin paste. It added a layer of richness to the flavor. We had it for shabbat with challah and wine and it was very flavorful and satisfying. The French lentils hold their shape nicely and make an attractive thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
So delicious, I've made this recipe many time but I use chicken broth, cut down on the salt to half, add 2 more cups of water (or it's really thick) and before serving I put in my immersion blender to get a soup consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've been looking for a lentil soup recipe to mimic my mother-in-law's. This is it--the spice in this is perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Very tasty. I made the soup according to the recipe and enjoyed it. The lentils tend to absorb liquids, so I did have to add water every now and then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I call shenanigans! The soup is delicious, but that step at the end where you add butter/flour is completely incorrect. This is the basis for any béchamel sauce or gravy, but a cup of flour will NOT be incorporated into 1/4c of any fat. The ratio is normally 1 T fat (butter) to 1 T flour to 1 cup liquid. When mixed this way the "paste" will not take on any more flour than about a half a cup and even then it starts separating and turning into crumbles and will not blend into the soup without creating lumps. I tried this as written, even though I knew it wouldn't work and I am right. Even with a half a cup of flour, I had to add 2 cups of water, take it off the stove, use a stick blender to smooth the lumps, and then added maybe 1/4 of that into the soup. If you want to add this step, and it does add a lusciousness that elevates it from the standard lentil soup, I suggest 2 T butter and 2 T flour. If you toast the flour in the pan over medium heat while stirring before adding the butter, you'll cut down on time and have a better product. But again, the soup itself is really tasty and has the perfect amount of spice. I used both french and brown lentils and added a half cup of chives and extra parsley since I'll soon lose my fresh herbs to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CurrantBeetsTM
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Mmm, I doubled this recipe and I'm glad I did. Mister Watson stayed out on the town tonight, so I had plenty and there was no rush. After reading up on a lot of Lebanese Lentil Soup recipes today, I trusted this one to be the backbone of my dish, making these adjustments: no celery (it's expensivish), red split lentils (3c. for 2 quarts liquid), no butter or flour, fresh ground red pepper flakes on top instead of cayenne inside, juice of 3/4 a lemon inside ( 1/4 saved for garnish), finally, for the 2 quarts water, I used about 5tsp. of this condensed vegetable bouillon paste that I got for the first time today. It was easy to adapt this recipe to my tastes and glad I used it. Oh and it only took about an hour! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
The soup is very healthy and filling. I guess the flavor wasn't as much to our liking as the Lentil Soup with Lemon by Jodi. That one is delish! This one is less expensive though and still okay. I guess after the other recipe, this one didn't quite hit it with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States