Lebanese Lemon Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
So, overall, this is delicious. It's really hearty and rich and filling and also completely healthy. I like some heat, so I added a little more cayenne than recommended and also a tablespoon or so of sambal olek (chili paste.) However, posters saying that it's very thick (it's much more stewlike) and that the flour-to-butter measurement is off are correct. Essentially you're making a roux to go into the soup, and with a roux you generally want a 1:1 flour-butter ratio. I did about a half cup of butter and a half cup of flour and it worked out great, and came out a bit more soupy than the original recipe would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
It was very bland.It was very bland, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
It was very bland. I expected it to be full of flavor. I need to look for another recipe to add spices to it to make it edible. I was disappointed. It doesn't even say to use the lemons in the soup, it's more of a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
My Husband and I both enjoyed this soup. I liked the lemony taste. He ate his with some crushed red pepper to add more heat. I also changed the amount of butter/flour to 2 TB each. The soup was rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marmouche
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
My all time favorite lentil soup, it reminds me of the one my lebanese roommate shared back in College days (when her mom made it)! This time I also threw in some cube tomatoes, some potatoes (leftover and already boiled) and at the last minute a big handfull of chopped black kale. Delicious! The lemon really makes all the difference too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this as written with the exception of using less flour/butter as many others suggested. Great combination of flavors. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Great flavor, but as another reviewer mentioned the flour/butter ratio is way off. I knew it would be, however, I followed the directions. I soon saw I would have nothing but a fried dough ball if I followed this recipe, so I successfully whisked in more fat. You'll have to use at least 1/3 - 1/2 cup fat for that amount of flour (or reduce flour). Also, I used the right amount of lentils and water, but this did not come out as a soup or stew. It was so thick it was more like a lentil side dish. I usually use more like 8 cups of water, at least for lentil soups. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I didn't follow the proportions exactly (the more carrots the merrier!) and I added some potatoes I had lying around, but the soup turned out fantastic! Absolutely scrumptious! Also, I didn't do the optional flour/butter thing. It seemed unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Delicious used brown lentils and substituted celery seed for the celery.I only used 1/2 c of flour. Served with warm pita bread and fresh sliced lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Ive made this recipe for ten years. There are no shenanigans! (: i did, however, make a mistake on the flour. There should be a bit less, and there needs to be a bit more liquid than i wrote. Chicken stick is my fav, but reduce your salt if you use it! Thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettfox

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States