Lebanese Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I have a "go to" recipe for chicken shawarma that i have made for years and i thought i would try something different. The three different dishes (steak / parsley blend / and tahini) were excellent on their own but combined something was definitely off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madmax

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Photo by ~GypsyDoll~
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This actually was time consuming to make but it was worth it ...whole family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~GypsyDoll~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Great presentation and taste; especially like the tahini sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I have tried to make shawarma many times before but every time it turns bland or over spiced . this recipe is wonderful and that's what I was searching for , the whole family loved it . the only change I made was using white vinegar instead of the red wine vinegar . I only made the shawarma part and I added my own topping :(Tomatoes-parsley - onion sprinkled with Sumac - green pepper - pickled cucumber - Tahini)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is terrific, tastes just like a famous Lebanese restaurant in Seattle. I made the following adjustments based on how the restaurant cooks the food: I tripled the garlic in the beef marinade, and doubled it for the Tahini sauce. Added some extra water to make the Tahini sauce thinner. Also, I briefly carmelized some onions and cabbage on high heat and set them out for people to include in the assembled Donairs along with tomatoes and the sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Sorry - we did not care for this all. Perhaps it's just our particular taste buds, but the spice flavor was just not something we enjoyed in the meat. I'm not sure if it was the allspice, or the cardomum. I followed the recipe completely, and I must say it smelled amazing while it was marinating, so I was truly disappointed when we didn't like the results. I would like to try again with a different mix of spices because I liked the cooking method - the meat turned out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
im eating it right now! i loooove it!! thank you very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Salama

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This dish was perfect and easy and will be on our regular rotation. I used chicken and left it marinating all day. WE paired this with Lebonese Garlic an cilantro potatoes instead of serving as a sandwhich. My boyfriend packed it for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very good. Made this with chicken instead of beef and skipped the tahini sauce because I didn't have any. The marinade is nice and complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
We will try this one more time but the first time not so good. Individually, most was good - the parsley mix was fantastic and light. The marinated meat was delicious after cooking BUT my Tahini "dressing" didn't turn out at all. I have worked with Tahini MANY times so I am quite familiar with it. My "dressing" after following the recipe to a T was a paste. We had to spread it on the flatbread with a knife and then the meat, parsley mixture and tomatoes. Not sure what happened as I followed the directions. Oh well, we will try again and if more successful will definitely update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States