Leah's Chicken with Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
Not one of our favorites. It was good but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I was really excited about this recipe but it fell flat. The flavors were bland and no amount of additional spices helped. I served it over couscous which gave it nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Taegu, Taegu-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This reipe needs cumin and up the tumeric to a tablespoon. This is a North African inspired dish. I live in North Africa, here we put cumin in evrything. Also change the vegtable oil to olive oil. It is better for you and tastes better. Also add some salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Pretty good if you spice it up with some cumin and red chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was pretty good. I cooked this in a pressure cooker because I hadn't soaked the chickpeas - I used 4 cups of water, 1 cup dry chickpeas, frozen chicken pieces and cooked on high pressure 40 minutes - other than that I followed the recipe as instructed. It wasn't drop dead fantastic but it was a good dinner choice and I will probably make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I used the suggestions regarding the tumeric and cumin. Flavors came through great. Tasted very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a great dish. The children loved it as well as the hubby!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Thank you for sharing this recipe, I made a few changes based on the other reviews and to reduce cooking time. I added additional turmeric. However, word of advice on that; turmeric is one of those spices that become more flavorful when cooked, so it's imperative to do a good browning of it when it's first added (so don't add too much!). I used chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. I cubed the chicken breasts and seasoned them with garlic salt, pepper and cumin prior to browning. I used chicken broth instead of water, however, I think I will stick with water next time. After squeezing the juice from the lemon, I tossed the lemon in the pot to simmer along with the chicken (of course, I removed the lemon prior to serving). :) Also, I used canned chick peas which I added at the very end, since they didn't need to cook, but just warm up. We ate this over couscous with a side of green beans (I know, not very exotic, but the green beans went well with the dish). My husband and kids all loved this dish. On a side note, my hubby ate chili peppers with his - he loves spicy food - and said it was fabulous. We'll definitely be making this again, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was awesome. We just moved, so I only changed a few things because of what I had on hand. I did not have an onion, so I used two small apples instead. Worked really well I thought, and I had chicken sausages with mango and jalepeno, I diced, browned and simmered. It simmered for a few hours, but it was wonderful. Will keep! Served over wild rice and served with a cool salad. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used chicken breast cut into cubes and chicken broth instead of water. I also added carrots and zucchini. Next time I will add the zucchini later so they aren't over-cooked and I will try adding cumin as other people have suggested. Although this was not super flavorful, it was a good hearty meal that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States