Leah's Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
The real deal. Chicken soup the way my grandma and mom made it, and the way I've just started to make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Leah, you saved the day. I am an newlywed and my husband had his first cold as a married man. Fortuantely I was able to make some "Jewish Penecillin" and now he's cured. He said my (your) chicken soup was better than his mothers and calls it my "Four Star Chicken Soup!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Leah, this soup brings back many wonderful memories of family and holiday gatherings. It is very similar to my mother's except for the Dill - which adds a nice touch. I will be making this for the Holidays tonight with both noodles and matzah balls added, as is our family tradition. Thank you again for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was fantastic. I have made it many times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I've never thought about adding dill to my stock - I'll have to try that some time. Just a note: it is not necessary to peel and/or chop your vegetables before adding them. Just wash them good and throw 'em in! (You're going to toss them in the end anyway.) You don't even have to peel your onion (the skin darkens the stock nicely). You can add any/all vegetables that are languishing in the vegetable bin to this stock. I freeze my stock in ice cube trays, then pop them out and put them in freezer bags. You use just a little or a lot that way and there's no waste. Thanks for posting this Leah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This made great chicken stock and was pleased with the over all result but the dill added a "mystery" flavor that I didn't care for. Next time I will leave out the dill.Okay...I have to add on to my review. If you are looking for a soup that will kick a cold than this is the recipe...DILL and all...I boosted mine today with a some fresh garlic since we all have the coughs - this soup does the trick when you feel sick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This is my mothers recipe for chicken soup! My family loves it,its just the best.i've substituted dried dill weed, its just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Add a peeled parsnip split lengthwise to soup pot. This give a gardeny taste. Discard after cooking with all other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Good recipe...just a few notes. For "traditional" stock, use poultry seasoning and bay leaves instead of dill. Also, I suggest removing the fat from the chicken first. It's advisable to bring the chicken to a boil first in order to remove the scum (impurities) from the top of the pot. You should remove as much scum as possible then add the vegetables. This makes for a clearer stock. I also add coarsly chopped celery leaves as they add a lot of flavour. You can also add chopped parsley. I cook up a big pot and freeze 2 cup portions for later use in cream soups, chowders and gravies. You'll just need to add more salt after it defrosts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I was looking for an easy recipe, this recipe fits the bill. I wanted low carb, check. I thought the soup is bland. I read the other reviews and they are all helpful and true. Next time I will add a little salt, boil the chicken first ( I did remove as much skin as possible before so my broth was pretty clear). I won't spend so much time chopping putting things in whole or chopping less was a good idea I read. I used less water and used a can of chicken broth low sodium. I did not change anything else. Overall, the recipe is simple but lacks flavor to me. I am not sure if my taste buds are ruined by salty can soup but I still like the recipe. I think it gives my beginner status room to try some other things like different seasoning. l try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States