Lazy Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
First off, this is a wonderful dish but implying that it's Lasagna is misleading. I wish it was called something else so some people wouldn't be disappointed when making it!!! ************************************** Important Note: Instead of adding another jar of sauce like some of the other readers suggested, I just added 1/2 jar of water to the sauce and then simmered it for 20 minutes. The reason that this recipe probably didn't have enough sauce when it finished baking was more than likely due to the fact that raviolis soak up water while they're cooking. The addition of the extra water gives the raviolis the water to plump up, instead of using the water from the sauce. This keeps the consistancy of the sauce like it should be, instead of drying out. Another bonus is that you don't have to use an extra jar of sauce, which only increases the expense of this dish unnecessarily. This dish came out GREAT.. hope this tip helps :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This was pretty good. The kids loved it and it's hard to make something they all like. HOWEVER, don't be a dork like me and 'thaw' the ravioli. Boil them in water if they are frozen or put them in the recipe still frozen. Unfortunately, I 'thawed' them in the refridgerator and they stuck together in a clump. I boiled the clump and it all worked out okay in the end but I think the results would have been somewhat better if I had just boiled them while still frozen before adding them to the recipe. I should have known better (hanging head in shame).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BINDERSBEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Ok so I have to admit that I saw the Lazy part of this recipe and had to try it. It was great. I took another reviewers advice and used italian sausage instead of beef and it was great. Found a new way to make lasagna without having to take up an entire evening. Thanks for the help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Super easy and very tasty. My family loved this lasagne and the house smelled terrific. I used Italian sausage instead of ground beef, 2 jars of spaghetti sauce, more mozzarella and a larger baking dish. This is quick to assemble and tastes like you slaved in the kitchen. I served this with garlic toast and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Easy to make and tasty, although my wacky oven burned it a little, so for those of you who have a quick oven, I suggest you cover while baking and check after a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Ronkonkoma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Great idea - I had a bag of frozen ravioli in the freezer and was looking for a quick meal! I used a can of low fat alfredo sauce instead of the spaghetti sauce because my husband likes it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was pretty good! However I did add some Sweet Italian sausage, fennel seeds, dried parsley and dried basil and a little sugar to the sauce to give it more favor. (I also simmer my sauce for 15 mins) It turned out great. I well definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latoyia Adkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
The house is smelling up nicely as this dish has another 20mins to go, with the lid off. I chopped up several (more than 5) cloves of garlic and added to the sauce, also adding a small amount of water to the sauce. Maybe a cup total. I used a 42 ounce jar of simple sauce and added fresh basil mushrooms and italian seasoning to it, and simmered it on the stove for a bit. I am not sure why people give this recipe a poor review when the already written reviews are stating to add more water. This is a great recipe idea... no layering of sauce, noodles, ricotta, sauce, noodles, ricotta - because the raviolis already contain enough ricotta. However, if you have the time, you can sprinkle a handful of mozz, or what have you, between layers. I recommend par-boiling the raviolis before preparing the dish. 30mins later: Fantastic! This was a really yummy meal - easy to make and a bit hit with everyone. A 13x9 will feed at least 8-10 people, especially if you include garlic bread and salad! We (2 of us) barely put a dent in it. It will be great for leftovers and lunches for my man. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was a huge hit! I forgot to get more cheese raviolis the day I made it so I used chicken & mozzarella raviolis on the bottom layer and cheese ones on the top. I thought it might be kinda weird but it was delicious. Another reviewer said to add water for the raviolis to soak up... don't! It was kinda soupy, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies anyone?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is good. I think adding some water or broth is a good idea. I also used ground sausage for this and added some italian seasoning. I used half the amount of ravioli's and put it in an 8x8 pan and it worked great. I also topped it off with some parmeasan cheese. I will surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States