Lazy Katie's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Great salad Victoria. I used leftover taco meat and french dressing instead of the taco sauce. I am not a big fan of Catalina by any means, but for some reason it pairs beautifully with taco meat. I used Frito's instead of tortilla chips. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is one of my favorite meals because it's so quick for me on a busy day and my boys love it because....we'll, they're getting chips for dinner! I health it up a bit and use ground turkey, my own homemade taco seasoning and I add chopped organic peppers and sometimes shredded carrot or zucchini to the taco meat. You can even sub half organic black beans for half the meat or double it to include the black beans in the taco meat to really make it stretch for a big family (or big eaters, like mine!). I also make my own salsa to go over the top. This can be made "lighter" with lowfat cheese and fat free sour cream without much difference in flavor. Try this with organic flavored taco chips, too! Even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
really good basic recipe, I added a can of refried beans to the hamburger and a little of the taco sauce. Then layer the rest as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Really good. I added a package of taco seasoning. Also added olives and onions. Makes great super quick dinner. Still makes a mess though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I used iceburg lettuce in place of romaine, instead of taco sauce I used 2 TBLS of the taco seasoning mix I recipe, 1/4 cup of water and a couple tablespoon of Secret Burger Sauce recipe. Added cucumbers, shredded carrots and sliced green peppers. Served with homemade ranch dressing. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
Great! I used a powdered taco sauce mix with the ground beef, substituted regular head lettuce instead of romaine and layered it differently with the lettuce on the bottom. I will definitely do this one over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Yummy and easy too! I make my own taco seasoning mix to add to the beef (4 teaspoons chili powder, 1 teaspoon cornstarch, 1 teaspoon ground cumin, 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano, 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper and 1/2 cup water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Even better than tacos! I put taco seasoning on the meat, and added kidney beans. I also added a little more taco seasoning to the mix. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I used taco seasoning on the ground beef and I used iceburg lettuce. This is always a great meal for our family to use up taco dinner leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
You can't go wrong with this great basic for a quick lunch or for dinner. I substituted the beef for Madras Lentils which is a lentil, kidney bean, and tomato substitute for tacos. Instead of corn chips I crunch up taco shells. Excellent and quick lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States