Lazy Golumbkis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
For me, this one is a keeper! I don't add the pepper till serving time ... because I like LOTS of pepper on this. And I forgot to add the rice when cooking, so I'll serve over steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lazybaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
My family really enjoyed this. I did brown the ground beef first with the onion. Then I added a dash of ground cloves, and a bit of brown sugar (about 1/3 cup), per other readers' suggestions. I used brown rice, and it was fully cooked after 6 hours in the low setting--a minor miracle, because my rice never seems to cook properly! This was a great way to simplify the original cabbage rolls! It saved me so much time, and the family loved it. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
We enjoyed this recipe. Next time I will check after 4 hours, the rice was a little over done, but still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I grew up on my grandma's golumbkis. She would spend hours making them. My husband does not like golumkis so in the 16 years that I have been married I never made them because of how time consuming it would be for just me. When I came across this recipe I was so happy because it sounded so easy. Then I read the reviews and got a little sad becuase I didn't think they would turn out. After all how could something so easy be good. Well I decided to make them after all. I made it exactly as stated. This was awseome. I had no problems. This was just as good as my grandma's but a lot easier. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I remember my mom slaving all day to make these, and here I am feeling guilty because this recipe is just as great and was so easy.Bravo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I'm a bohunk and grew up on my mom's stuffed cabbage and this is a close second and much easier! I did brown the ground meat with some onions first and added lipton onion soup mix after. White, uncooked regular rice worked fine. I added 1 can of tomato soup and 1/2 cup water and poured over top of the layers without stirring. Came out great! The only thing I'd change for next time is add some sourkraut on top and use one more can of soup for more sauce. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. Golumbki is one of my favorite things that my mother-in-law makes so I was excited to try this. I followed the advice of some of the reviews. I browned the meat with some onions, garlic, salt, and pepper. I also added two cans of tomato soup with half a cup of water on top as sauce. Also, I used diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. It turned out great! My slow cooker is actually a fast cooker because it was done in 4 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hainesville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Way yummy! I added some brown sugar and used brown rice, and used turkey burger to cut down on fat. And, I didn't have time to do the slow cooker route, I just put it in a big pan on the stove and simmered for an hour and a half. Great recipe...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
A very good cabbage roll casserole! I used 1 LB ground beef, 1 TBS dried onion, a few shakes each of garlic powder, seasoning salt, and pepper, 3 TBS worcestershire sauce, a 26 oz can of mushroom pasta sauce, 2 TBS brown sugar, 1 tsp lemon juice, an 11 oz can of tomato juice, 1 cup uncooked instant rice, and ½ head of cabbage. I browned up the meat, drained it, and added the next 5 ingredients. I then poured it into my 3-quart slow cooker and mixed in everything but the tomato juice, instant rice, and cabbage. I cooked it for around 4 hours on low, then added half the tomato juice. 2 hours later, I added the cabbage, rice, and remaining tomato juice. Around 45 minutes later, it was done but not overdone! My husband HATED the last cabbage roll casserole I made, but he really liked this (he likes adding a little extra lemon juice to his serving). Thanks for sharing, CSANDST1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this for the first time for our Christmas Dinner with my family. I was in a rush and put in the entire package of meat without measuring. I know it was more than I needed. I was tripling the recipe. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States