Lazy Golumbkis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I'm a bohunk and grew up on my mom's stuffed cabbage and this is a close second and much easier! I did brown the ground meat with some onions first and added lipton onion soup mix after. White, uncooked regular rice worked fine. I added 1 can of tomato soup and 1/2 cup water and poured over top of the layers without stirring. Came out great! The only thing I'd change for next time is add some sourkraut on top and use one more can of soup for more sauce. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I used lean ground beef, cooked it w/ 2 onions and tons of garlic powder, basil, paprika, and white pepper, then drained it. In the crock pot I put the meat mixture, 1 can Itailian style tomatoes, 1 large can of Hunt's low sugar spag. sauce, 1 roasted red bell pepper, and the cabbage cut into large strips. I turned it on high for 2 hours around 1 pm. By the time I got back, the cabbage was done, so I just kept it on warm until 30 minutes before dinner. I cooked 3/4 cup of buckwheat groats w/ and egg white and 1 1/2 cups of water and added it to the beef and cabbage. My husband was so surprised when he came home! My daughter, who is not a fan of cabbage, has eaten this for lunch & dinner for the last 2 days, and is having the last bit for lunch today as well. It is hard not to over cook the cabbage, that is why I kept an eye on it, otherwise it would have turned to mush. I don't know about not cooking the meat first either...I think the recipe would turn out way too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I have made regular golumbkis for years and found this recipe so much easier. I had no trouble with the rice, as other people said they did. I also added a few cloves (6-8), which gives it a spicer flavor, and made it taste like my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is a GREAT alternative to making Golabkis. I love my mom's Golabki recipe but realistically it takes too long and their are a lot of dishes to clean. I modified this based on my mom's recipe and others suggestions. Used Meatloaf mix instead of beef for more flavor, added cooked bacon (the missing key flavor if you ask me!), cut cabbage in thick slices verses shredded and used two cans of tomato soup and one can of water instead of tomato sauce. Cooked on High for 4-5 hours and my uncooked long grain rice turned out fine. The key is to make sure you have enough liquid to cook the rice. We can now have the taste of Globki's more than 3x a year!! Note: This does come out quite mushy so texture wise you don't get the browned cabbage like when rolled and baked but flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I made this in the oven since the electricity here isn't reliable enough to cook in a crockpot. I added a tsp of cinnamon to the tomato sauce and baked it covered at 350 degrees for an hour. It came out perfect -- good flavor, not overcooked or undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
If you cook the ground beff frist it will not be as greasy and the meat will taste btter to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Yummy. This is real comfort food for a rainy day. I added garlic powder and a little seasoned salt. I used brown rice instead of white. I mixed the cabbage the last 1/2 hour so it was not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I've seen a different version of this meal which included 1/4 to 1/3 cup brown sugar which makes it really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Contrary to another review, my rice would not cook. Next time I'll use instant, or cook it alone and add it at the end. Other than that, my husband and I loved it (it was really good with corn bread). (Ignore my "kid friendly rating", my children don't eat ANYTHING).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
My family really enjoyed this. I did brown the ground beef first with the onion. Then I added a dash of ground cloves, and a bit of brown sugar (about 1/3 cup), per other readers' suggestions. I used brown rice, and it was fully cooked after 6 hours in the low setting--a minor miracle, because my rice never seems to cook properly! This was a great way to simplify the original cabbage rolls! It saved me so much time, and the family loved it. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States