Lazy Golumbkis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This came out SOOOOOO good. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 was because the rice was a bit undone after 8 hours. I made some more and just added it in and you hardly noticed. I also tweaked the recipe a bit - used ground turkey (don't eat red meat) and browned it first with chopped onions, pepper, salt and garlic powder. I used a bit more sauce than called for and threw in some garlic cloves. I did not stir it up before I put the heat on. It was SO tasty and much easier than the traditional stuffed cabbage leaves recipe my grandma used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Forge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I'm a bohunk and grew up on my mom's stuffed cabbage and this is a close second and much easier! I did brown the ground meat with some onions first and added lipton onion soup mix after. White, uncooked regular rice worked fine. I added 1 can of tomato soup and 1/2 cup water and poured over top of the layers without stirring. Came out great! The only thing I'd change for next time is add some sourkraut on top and use one more can of soup for more sauce. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This is a great tasting recipe. I used meatloaf mix, (ground beef, gr.pork,gr.veal) in place of just gr. beef. This is what I use when I stuff cabbage and worked great for this recipe also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
For me, this one is a keeper! I don't add the pepper till serving time ... because I like LOTS of pepper on this. And I forgot to add the rice when cooking, so I'll serve over steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lazybaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
If you cook the ground beff frist it will not be as greasy and the meat will taste btter to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I remember my mom slaving all day to make these, and here I am feeling guilty because this recipe is just as great and was so easy.Bravo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This is a recipe that should have been better than it was. Maybe more tomatoe juice would have helped, it was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
There was just something missing with this recipe. I'm not sure what it was. I followed the recipe to the "t" (As I do the first time I try any recipe), and mine turned mushy and kind of sour or rotten tasting. I wish I knew what to add to give it some flavor....I ended up dumping it down the garbage disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
This sounded so much better than it actually ended up to be. Nobody liked it (even my husband who'll eat anything.) The flavor was bland, the rice was crunchy and it was overcooked. If I were interested in trying it again, (which I'm not) I'd use Minute Rice and wouldn't add it or the cabbage until much, much later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULAINE59

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
WAYYYYY too long cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States