Lazy Golumbkis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
this was great. even my son who does not like cabbage liked this. the only change I made was to add some water part way through the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
My family really enjoyed this. I did brown the ground beef first with the onion. Then I added a dash of ground cloves, and a bit of brown sugar (about 1/3 cup), per other readers' suggestions. I used brown rice, and it was fully cooked after 6 hours in the low setting--a minor miracle, because my rice never seems to cook properly! This was a great way to simplify the original cabbage rolls! It saved me so much time, and the family loved it. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
2 or 3 cloves and a small can of well drained(but not rinsed) sauerkraut, adds some flavor to a rather bland dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I grew up on my grandma's golumbkis. She would spend hours making them. My husband does not like golumkis so in the 16 years that I have been married I never made them because of how time consuming it would be for just me. When I came across this recipe I was so happy because it sounded so easy. Then I read the reviews and got a little sad becuase I didn't think they would turn out. After all how could something so easy be good. Well I decided to make them after all. I made it exactly as stated. This was awseome. I had no problems. This was just as good as my grandma's but a lot easier. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
We enjoyed this recipe. Next time I will check after 4 hours, the rice was a little over done, but still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I've seen a different version of this meal which included 1/4 to 1/3 cup brown sugar which makes it really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I used lean ground beef, cooked it w/ 2 onions and tons of garlic powder, basil, paprika, and white pepper, then drained it. In the crock pot I put the meat mixture, 1 can Itailian style tomatoes, 1 large can of Hunt's low sugar spag. sauce, 1 roasted red bell pepper, and the cabbage cut into large strips. I turned it on high for 2 hours around 1 pm. By the time I got back, the cabbage was done, so I just kept it on warm until 30 minutes before dinner. I cooked 3/4 cup of buckwheat groats w/ and egg white and 1 1/2 cups of water and added it to the beef and cabbage. My husband was so surprised when he came home! My daughter, who is not a fan of cabbage, has eaten this for lunch & dinner for the last 2 days, and is having the last bit for lunch today as well. It is hard not to over cook the cabbage, that is why I kept an eye on it, otherwise it would have turned to mush. I don't know about not cooking the meat first either...I think the recipe would turn out way too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. Golumbki is one of my favorite things that my mother-in-law makes so I was excited to try this. I followed the advice of some of the reviews. I browned the meat with some onions, garlic, salt, and pepper. I also added two cans of tomato soup with half a cup of water on top as sauce. Also, I used diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. It turned out great! My slow cooker is actually a fast cooker because it was done in 4 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hainesville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. It was very dry and the rice was mushey. To say the least I will not be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
My husband and I did not care for this recipe and that is putting it politely. Sorry Christine. We won't be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States