Lazy Golumbkis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this for the first time for our Christmas Dinner with my family. I was in a rush and put in the entire package of meat without measuring. I know it was more than I needed. I was tripling the recipe. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I decided to take a chance, despite the other reviews, and see if my rice would cook, but it simply would not. We ate it, even though the rice was a bit "crunchy", and the rest was "mushy", but I will not make this recipe again. Since we liked the taste of the ingredients together, I may try a different version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My family didn't like it. There really wasn't much flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is a GREAT alternative to making Golabkis. I love my mom's Golabki recipe but realistically it takes too long and their are a lot of dishes to clean. I modified this based on my mom's recipe and others suggestions. Used Meatloaf mix instead of beef for more flavor, added cooked bacon (the missing key flavor if you ask me!), cut cabbage in thick slices verses shredded and used two cans of tomato soup and one can of water instead of tomato sauce. Cooked on High for 4-5 hours and my uncooked long grain rice turned out fine. The key is to make sure you have enough liquid to cook the rice. We can now have the taste of Globki's more than 3x a year!! Note: This does come out quite mushy so texture wise you don't get the browned cabbage like when rolled and baked but flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe came off with no problems, however, I did not care for the taste of it. Followed the directions to the step, rice was perfect, shredded the cabbage, did not make any alterations what so ever. The flavor was too far out there for me. I have polish relatives and am very familar and know what it is suspose to taste like. I think everyone should try it as we all have different tastes. Good Luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I guess I'm not a cabbage fan. I read the reviews and was very excited after reading all the reviews, but this one was disappointing. The recipe was easy to follow and very easy to prepare. For me it turned out very dry, even after I added a cup of water. Will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaus2000

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
only kevin and I liked it sort of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
A very good cabbage roll casserole! I used 1 LB ground beef, 1 TBS dried onion, a few shakes each of garlic powder, seasoning salt, and pepper, 3 TBS worcestershire sauce, a 26 oz can of mushroom pasta sauce, 2 TBS brown sugar, 1 tsp lemon juice, an 11 oz can of tomato juice, 1 cup uncooked instant rice, and ½ head of cabbage. I browned up the meat, drained it, and added the next 5 ingredients. I then poured it into my 3-quart slow cooker and mixed in everything but the tomato juice, instant rice, and cabbage. I cooked it for around 4 hours on low, then added half the tomato juice. 2 hours later, I added the cabbage, rice, and remaining tomato juice. Around 45 minutes later, it was done but not overdone! My husband HATED the last cabbage roll casserole I made, but he really liked this (he likes adding a little extra lemon juice to his serving). Thanks for sharing, CSANDST1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
We have made this many, many times. The only change I make is to add lots of hot sauce since we like things spicy, and I spread a can of undiluted tomatoe soup over the top before cooking to make it a bit richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Way yummy! I added some brown sugar and used brown rice, and used turkey burger to cut down on fat. And, I didn't have time to do the slow cooker route, I just put it in a big pan on the stove and simmered for an hour and a half. Great recipe...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States