Lazy Dazy Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I added 1 1/2 tablespoons vanilla ex along w/ a half cup finely shredded coconut to the batter. I also did not use egg yolk and instead egg whites which worked otu great! I find yolk is usually unnecessary anyhow. The glaze needs work because as is it's super runny like water and has no substance or stickability. Needs to harden once cooled and it doesn't at all. The glaze also needed somethign extra flavor wise so I added a couple tablespoons of rum, 1 table spoon vanilla ex, and 2 teaspoons coconut ex. The cakes texture came out very well. It also only needed to be cooked a half hour so I'm glad I was payign attention and didn't follow the recipes time for a whole hour! Casue the cake would had been ruined. At a half hour the top had a perfect golden brown color and was firm and moist. Will make again, but will modify as I already have to make it a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Oh my gosh! This cake is totally AWESOME!!! I made this just for fun but it turned out sooo yummy...great topping! My boyfriend loved it! You should definately try this recipe. If you are reading this, then good for you because its always smart to read reviews before baking anything. I'm glad i did. Remember: DO NOT bake this cake for more than 20-25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Wow...what a great recipe. As suggested, I added a teaspoon of vanilla, and only baked the cake for 30 min at max. I used two 8" round pans lined with parchment paper, lightly greased and floured. After broiling, I let them cool and flipped the cakes out of the pans and made a two layer cake - very nice display! Tastes just like grandma used to make. I will use this recipe again. In fact, I think I'll use the batter recipe the next time I make pineapple upside-down cake. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This is my Grandma's recipe but doubled (so, you can easily halve this recipe and it makes one layer) - I LOVE this cake. So simple, it is my default "coffee with the neighbour" cake and I change it up as need be - today it contains fresh blueberries and no coconut in the topping. I have also made it with soy milk and it comes out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERSEPHONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I made this cake and at 29 minutes in the oven it was burnt. I think that the hour for cooking time is a typo. I remade it and cooked it for 20 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This sponge cake recipe was just what I was after for shortcake shells, so I didn't use the topping. I reduced the serving size to six, which was just perfect for my 6-shortcake pan. I was satisfied with them, but would have liked them with a little more butter in the batter as well as some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Really nice cake. Cook only 28-30 minutes. I found when broiling the topping not to move the oven rack closer to the broiler. It browned better and didn't burn when I left the rack in the center of the oven where I cooked the cake. I just set the oven to broil. Would be good with your own frosting or fruit too. A keeper, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
YES! Make sure that you do not try to bake this for an hour. Just like someone else said, "about 20 minutes". This cake has a fantastic taste. I didn't even use coconut. I think the next time that I make it I will punch holes in the top of the cake and then pour the icing on it. The icing makes the cake to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
incredibly good! I made it in two 8-inch rounds -- looks nicer than a flat cake. Cooked for just over 20 minutes. Watch it at the stage where you put it under the broiler, and turn it around so it colors evenly, if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Overall a very good cake, and easy to put together. I noticed a reviewer mentioned eggy-ness so I cut back to three eggs (can't stand eggy-ness) and after tasting the batter I added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract for more flavor. I agree with others that the baking time is wayyy off; mine was done in 20 minutes. The cake itself is nice and spongy; nothing too dense. but that topping....Oh WOW that topping is amazing for this cake. I would absolutely make this again, but with the changes I mentioned above. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States