Lazy Dazy Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I was thrilled when I found this recipe on-line. My grandmother made it for every occasion. Unfortunately her recipe card is M.I.A. so no one has had this cake for years. The cake turned out wonderful (cooked @ 23 min.)I strongly recommend doubling the topping recipe, it barely covered the cake. (which is the best part). I also added some vanilla extract. Overall it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
yummy! i halved the recipe and made mini sponge cakes in 12 muffin tins. The amount of batter was perfect. I added 3/4 teaspoon vanilla to the batter, and 1/4 teaspoon vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon to the icing. I'm waiting for them to cool right now but they smell delicious. The muffins took about 15 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My father remembers the farm women making this cake and this recipe is the same as the ones he tasted over 50 years ago!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This is my Grandma's recipe but doubled (so, you can easily halve this recipe and it makes one layer) - I LOVE this cake. So simple, it is my default "coffee with the neighbour" cake and I change it up as need be - today it contains fresh blueberries and no coconut in the topping. I have also made it with soy milk and it comes out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERSEPHONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I thought that this recipe was not what I expected it to turn out like. I followed everything in the recipe and I found the result to be too sweet. Sponge cakes are supposed to be light and airy, but mine turned out heavy and dense and had a strong eggy taste. I wanted to make it for a party but couldn't because the result was too disappointing. I ended up buying one instead. My friends were looking forward to eating a cake made by me, since I don't see them all that often. Overall, I found this cake to be too sweet, heavy, dense, and did not result in the cake that I was looking forward to serving my friends with. I will definitely not make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I did this like 2 years ago and it was great ... now that i found the recipe again im gonna try this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exotic Pineapple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
It was OK. Nothing too exciting. It was moist and sweet just not recipe I will repeat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Cake is so moist and delicious. Like others said, 30 minutes was all it took to bake it. The topping is pretty sweet, but its still super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I love this cake! I don't follow the recipe exactly; being a vegan, I have to modify it somewhat. I have also substituted various frostings on top. I've made it several times, and it's always good. It comes out moist and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Perhaps I did something wrong, but I thought it tasted very bland and it didnt even come out well.. very dough-like. I added the vanilla and baked only for 20 minutes like everyone said to. BOO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States