Lazy Dazy Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Lovely cake! We used a bundt pan, and it took about 40 minutes to be done. I also always cook with substitutes, due to dietary restrictions - we used margarine, soy milk, and spelt flour, and it came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I added vanilla, and reduced the overall sugar in this recipe; also used a bit of whole wheat flour. I forgot to caramelize them (I made cupcakes) under the broiler! But they were still delish, just not very pretty as all the topping runs off the rounded tops and settles into the sides, eventually soaking into the cake (which is delicious). I will probably make this again sometime as it uses common household ingredients, and hopefully it'll be pretty enough to take a picture of--let me tell you, cupcakes of this recipe just are not pretty :) But delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Recipe is easily cut in half, so I made it in a 9x9 size, baked for 20 minutes. I added vanilla to the batter. Otherwise, did everything the same. Only needed to broil on high for 2ish minutes to get that nice caramelization. DEELISH! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastormaya
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was a great simple recipe. I made these in large muffin tins, so everyone had their own mini cake. I took the advice of other reviews and added some vanilla and didn't bake for the 1 hour. They turned out great! Thanks! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was really really good. Everyone asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIE3WISHZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was a very easy cake to make but the taste... is awful. I did add vanilla as other said but it made it taste like vanilla paste. Like it has to much flour.. and the top is tacky to much sugar? anyway it was pretty in the pan.Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
The frosting was good but this was not an exceptional cake. The suggestions regarding adding vanilla and baking time were very helpful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
excellent, i LOVED this cake. however, the first time round i only baked it for 30 mins as many reviews stated, and it was really not ready yet. Its in the oven now for the second time (im loving it, and it this years main christmas desert), im going to leave it in for about 45-50mins. last time i added nuts to the mixture, and when the cake was ready i opened it in the middle and put strawberry jam in. itwas AMAZING! this time im adding a layer of chocolate cover (you see many people in my family dont like coconut so im not doing that covering)and that with a layer of smarties... FUN! btw THANK YOU for this great, easy and amazingly tasting recipe! LOVE the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I baked it for only 30 minutes, then glazed it beneath the broiler. I took the suggestions of vanilla and coconut extract in the glaze. It was good. It might be a little too sweet for an every day cake, but it would work beautifully at a church pot luck or a large family gathering. The cake has a nice enough texture that it could be used without the glaze with fruit. Even if it is in another carnation--topped with berries or cranberries or cooked apples--, I will make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Very, very good. Baked in 25 mins. And yes, double the frosting recipe. It's a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Borah

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States