Lazy Daisy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a wonderful blast from the past - a family favorite! We poke holes in the cake prior to broiling to allow some of the gooey goodness to seep in even deeper!! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Yankee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is great! fluffy, sweet, delicious! ive made it dairy free also, by substituting coconut milk for the moo, and oil for the butter. I also like a creamy coconut custard for the topping, use the rest of the can of coconut milk and heat it with sugar and a tbsp of cornstarch! sivv it if its a bit lumpy, but its PERFECT! i cant believe its so EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jovialj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a pretty good cake, but the frosting was super sweet. I took the advice of someone else and cut the butter down some too. I used 5 tbsp instead of 8. I gave it 5 because my sister thinks it's so good she wants me to make it for her wedding rehearsal dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The cake part of this is wonderful. Moist, and the perfect texture. I did find the topping a little too buttery though. My grandmother used to make "Lazy Daisy Cake" and I thought this might be her recipe, but I don't think hers called for butter in the topping at all. Next time, I'll use 1/4 the amount of butter and increase the cream a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I have been looking for this cake recipe for years. It is similar to the one in an old Fanny Farmer cookbook I had but somewhere along the way the page went missing. This is a family favorite and the only thing I do different is to add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to the topping mixture. For those that don't like coconut you can probably replace it chopped walnuts or pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlo
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
cake turned out perfectly. however, just as another reviewer stated, even though pan was well greased it still stuck... other than that it was perfect. For the icing i used: 4T melted butter, 2T cream, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup shredded coconut(since that's all i had), 3/4 cup chocolate chips. This was enough to cover the top, which was plenty of sweetness for this cake. ****UPDATE 4/11/12, changed 4 stars to "5"! Made this cake again today as a B-Day cake, turned out perfectly (this time I greased & floured the pan which helped alot). this is a consistant cake, no surprises, so it's a cake you can count on and so quick & easy to make. This time I covered it in melted chocolate (1 cup chocolate chips, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 4 Tbl melted butter, 2 Tbl heated milk); then I put fresh strawberries cut in half to cover the whole cake (the chocolate kept the strawberries in place perfectly). Please take a look at the photo I posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Ouch! Couldn't wait to try this and sure enough ... burnt my tounge (grin). Absolutely wonderful - I can so see this will some grilled or glazed pineapple on top. Yes, the topping *is* sweet, but there's so little (I barely had enough to spread around the cake) that you aren't overwhelmed by it. I, too, decreased butter down to 6T and poked holes in cake so topping could melt down. Yum! Oops - just realized a) I did use coconut milk in place of milk and b) completely forgot to add the cream to frosting mixture. Still tastes darn good. UPDATE: We served this with pineapple, strawberries and whipped cream and it was simply to die for. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Mmmmm This is SO SO good! I used to make this all the time when I was a kid and I hadn't made it in years and no longer had the recipe but this is exactly as I remembered and oh so good. My kids now love it too. The one thing I changed is I only used 1/2c coconut in the topping because thats all I had and it worked fine that way. Also I had to cook it a lot longer than the suggested cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I made this cake yesterday for a lunch get together and everyone loved it, including the children. The cake is very moist and the topping is not overly sweet. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Great recipe. I cut the coconut for the topping in half and replace with golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States