Lazy Daisy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Ouch! Couldn't wait to try this and sure enough ... burnt my tounge (grin). Absolutely wonderful - I can so see this will some grilled or glazed pineapple on top. Yes, the topping *is* sweet, but there's so little (I barely had enough to spread around the cake) that you aren't overwhelmed by it. I, too, decreased butter down to 6T and poked holes in cake so topping could melt down. Yum! Oops - just realized a) I did use coconut milk in place of milk and b) completely forgot to add the cream to frosting mixture. Still tastes darn good. UPDATE: We served this with pineapple, strawberries and whipped cream and it was simply to die for. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was totally amazing!! My family ate them up so quickly that I barley got any! My one thing was that they are REALLY sweet so if your not a sweet person they might not be for you. But over all unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
So fast, so easy but what a light result. I made 2 cakes and sandwiched them together with Raspberry Jam... YummY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a pretty good cake, but the frosting was super sweet. I took the advice of someone else and cut the butter down some too. I used 5 tbsp instead of 8. I gave it 5 because my sister thinks it's so good she wants me to make it for her wedding rehearsal dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delicious! Added chocolate chips on top like another reviewer and it was a perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The cake part of this is wonderful. Moist, and the perfect texture. I did find the topping a little too buttery though. My grandmother used to make "Lazy Daisy Cake" and I thought this might be her recipe, but I don't think hers called for butter in the topping at all. Next time, I'll use 1/4 the amount of butter and increase the cream a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I've made this several times. Always gets rave reviews. My favorite cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
The entire family loves this cake. Whenever I make it reminds by of my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
to make the cake spongier, use baking soda instead of baking powder. it's an easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Perfect for strawberry shortcake (I got 12 servings for that use). I didn't use the frosting and had to bake it for about 10 - 15 minutes longer. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States