Lazy Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Not bad, but after trying this compared to other traditional baked mac and cheese dishes, I think we prefer the more traditional ones. This isn't as macaroni dense as a regular macaroni and cheese would be. Other reviewers comments about this being like a custard are spot on. It's good, just not the mac and cheese hubs likes the best. I'm not the biggest fan of mac and cheese in general, but I prefer traditional as well. That being said, this is uber easy to pop in the oven and let bake, so I'm a huge fan of the method. I did decide to add some protein to make it more of a meal so fried up a couple of Boca burgers with onions, garlic, and Montreal steak seasoning then chopped to make more like hamburger. Tossed it in with everything and baked it. Since I had to preheat the oven anyway, I tossed the greased baking dish with the margarine in the oven while it was preheating then pulled it out when the margarine had melted and mixed in the pasta. As others have commented, it was easier to mix everything together in another bowl, so I did that. Topped with American cheese slices, baked covered for 45, uncovered for 15 minutes and it was completely cooked and not runny with that adjustment. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is one of the best AND inexpensive macaroni and cheese recipes that I have ever made! When you are feeding a family of 6, it can be difficult to make some of the fancier versions that require five different types of cheese. I did use Borden's Cheddar Melt shredded cheese instead (its a combination of Cheddar and American) and it came out great. I thought it reheated very well. Thank you for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
My family loves this i feel you will also...Thanks for the post of it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
So easy, and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this recipe for a home-ec assignment. I am a sophomore in high school and it was very easy to make. It tasted delicious, everyone at the table has asked me mutlitple times to make it again. I would definitely recommend this recipe for anyone wanting to make a quick, easy, and delicious recipe for dinner or family event!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Tasted great! I made a few minor adjustments, like I only had half the amount of evaporated milk so i used a 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup of water. (lol) I also added a bit of crushed red pepper flakes. The last 10 minutes of cooking i covered it with Parmesan cheese and broiled it for 4 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I'm giving two stars because it was an easy recipe, and I appreciate that. My kids liked it, because what kid doesn't like Mac n cheese, but my husband and I thought it was way too custardy. The texture kinda grossed me out. I ended up adding some more season to it because it needed it. I would only make this again if I changed it quite a bit. I hated the egg in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! It was a hit at the party I took it too, and the whole thing was devoured. I tweaked the recipe just a little. Instead of using a whole pound of shredded American cheese, I changed the ratio to: 8 oz of shredded cheddar, 5 oz shredded asiago, and 5 oz of shredded parmesean. I also added roughly a 1/2 cup of diced ham and 1/2 cup of diced onions. So delicious. One other thing, the liquid in the baking dish, prior to baking, has a very low viscosity (i.e. it's watery). I tried to transport it uncooked in a pyrex baking dish with lid so that I could bake it and serve it fresh at the party. I wound up with some egg/evaporated milk on the floor of my friends car lol. Lesson learned, I will bake first and then transport, or assemble the ingredients at the end destination. Good luck and have fun cookin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Sugg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Noodles didn't cook and were hard and crunchy. Would not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was not the sucess I wanted it to be. I followed the recipe exactly as it was my first attempt. Elbow macaroni too an extra 20 minutes to cook. And it was too cheesy. Edible but will not repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States