Layin' the Chocolate Smack Down Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Very easy recipe to make. Great for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Ohhh so sweet! The ONLY problem with this, is trying not to eat it all and trying not to eat all the brownies when you are placing them in the pan! This is so easy to make and will feed a lot of people. If I change anything in the future, I will top it with toffee instead of oreos....the oreos got a little soggy (I didn't crush them up though, I just placed the whole cookies on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
THIS IS SOOOO GOOD. I'VE MADE THIS BEFORE WITHOUT THE BROWNIES AND IT WAS STILL DELICIOUS. MAKE SURE TO LEAVE THE COOL WHIP OUT OF THE FRIDGE UNTIL IT IS SOFT WHILE YOU MAKE THE BROWNIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My sister made this using her own homemade brownie recipe for my mother's 80th birthday party, and it was the first thing to disappear. It's a great party recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Five stars for simplicity while still being super delicious! I omitted the oreo cookies and instead topped this with Reeses peanut butter cups. I also put this in a 9x13 pan as it wasn't going to fit well in my trifle dish. I also used two 3.9 oz. boxes of chocolate pudding and one 8 oz. container of cool whip was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Yummy! I made this dessert for a BBQ and it was a huge success. I did substitute the cookies for chocolate chips, but simply due to personal preferance. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candy_rose_25
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made the other one with the sweetened condensed milk added and it was too sweet! So I figured I wanted to make it this way and looked for a recipe like what i had in mind. This way is tons better. This recipe is only to be made hours prior to eating, don't make it and then carry somewhere the next day it will be soggy. I made it about 5 hours prior to a church potluck and it was great but i could tell it wouldn't be good long after. Made to be eaten soon after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy_rose_25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Recipe is great but you need to TRIPLE the amount of ingredients needed if you want your dessert to look like the picture. I used two tubs of cool whip, 1 5.9 oz box of jello and another smaller box of jello. I made my own brownies in a 9X11 pan but could have used more. If you want a full dessert then triple the recipe and you'll have enough!! I didn't have any cookies so I used chocolate chips on top. I could have used extra brownies if I had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This recipe was so simple and delicious. I ended up whipping the cream myself and then tweaked it for a Christmas party and added peppermint extract. Definitely going into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe. I have the same one at home only I used package chocolate cake mix instead of Brownie mix and I crush up kit kat bars on top instead of cookies. Very Yummy. :) Enjoy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States