Layin' the Chocolate Smack Down Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Not exactly home baking quality, particularly since every aspect of this involves highly processed foods, but good and quick in a pinch. Since I sent it to work with hubs for his staff and knew he wouldn't want the hassle of a trifle bowl, I just baked the brownies in an 11x7 dish, then layered on the pudding, whipped topping and crushed cookies. Easy to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by candy_rose_25
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made the other one with the sweetened condensed milk added and it was too sweet! So I figured I wanted to make it this way and looked for a recipe like what i had in mind. This way is tons better. This recipe is only to be made hours prior to eating, don't make it and then carry somewhere the next day it will be soggy. I made it about 5 hours prior to a church potluck and it was great but i could tell it wouldn't be good long after. Made to be eaten soon after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy_rose_25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I have been making this dessert for years, we call it "The Chocolate Bomb." I don't use the sandwich cookies, but sometimes chop up candy bars such as twix, snickers, etc and sprinkle on top. I also always use sugar free, fat free pudding and fat free Cool Whip and no one ever knows the difference. Tastes great and makes a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Yummy! I made this dessert for a BBQ and it was a huge success. I did substitute the cookies for chocolate chips, but simply due to personal preferance. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
THIS IS SOOOO GOOD. I'VE MADE THIS BEFORE WITHOUT THE BROWNIES AND IT WAS STILL DELICIOUS. MAKE SURE TO LEAVE THE COOL WHIP OUT OF THE FRIDGE UNTIL IT IS SOFT WHILE YOU MAKE THE BROWNIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Very easy recipe to make. Great for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is almost the same as the Chocolate Trifle recipe. The only difference I add is 2 tbsp instant coffee to the chocolate pudding as it's being mixed, to make it more like a mocha trifle. If you let it sit overnight, it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe. I have the same one at home only I used package chocolate cake mix instead of Brownie mix and I crush up kit kat bars on top instead of cookies. Very Yummy. :) Enjoy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Five stars for simplicity while still being super delicious! I omitted the oreo cookies and instead topped this with Reeses peanut butter cups. I also put this in a 9x13 pan as it wasn't going to fit well in my trifle dish. I also used two 3.9 oz. boxes of chocolate pudding and one 8 oz. container of cool whip was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Made this for my dd's jr. high cross country team. They all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States