Layin' the Chocolate Smack Down Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Very easy recipe to make. Great for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This is really easy to make, and tastes great...but not so great after a day or two in the fridge. The ingredients start to mush together and we end up tossing at least 1/4 of it because we never can eat it all in time. This would be a great dish to take to a large potluck or picnic. Any place you can be sure it will be eaten on the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Ohhh so sweet! The ONLY problem with this, is trying not to eat it all and trying not to eat all the brownies when you are placing them in the pan! This is so easy to make and will feed a lot of people. If I change anything in the future, I will top it with toffee instead of oreos....the oreos got a little soggy (I didn't crush them up though, I just placed the whole cookies on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Not exactly home baking quality, particularly since every aspect of this involves highly processed foods, but good and quick in a pinch. Since I sent it to work with hubs for his staff and knew he wouldn't want the hassle of a trifle bowl, I just baked the brownies in an 11x7 dish, then layered on the pudding, whipped topping and crushed cookies. Easy to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
THIS IS SOOOO GOOD. I'VE MADE THIS BEFORE WITHOUT THE BROWNIES AND IT WAS STILL DELICIOUS. MAKE SURE TO LEAVE THE COOL WHIP OUT OF THE FRIDGE UNTIL IT IS SOFT WHILE YOU MAKE THE BROWNIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My sister made this using her own homemade brownie recipe for my mother's 80th birthday party, and it was the first thing to disappear. It's a great party recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I have been making this dessert for years, we call it "The Chocolate Bomb." I don't use the sandwich cookies, but sometimes chop up candy bars such as twix, snickers, etc and sprinkle on top. I also always use sugar free, fat free pudding and fat free Cool Whip and no one ever knows the difference. Tastes great and makes a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Made this for my dd's jr. high cross country team. They all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Very good recipe except if I were to make it again, I'd make it with a double batch of fudge brownies. It didn't fill up my trifle dish as much as I would like. Instead of chocolate pudding I bought Oreo pudding and I put Scor bits in between layers. Ontop I put scor bits and mini oreos for a nicer presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Five stars for simplicity while still being super delicious! I omitted the oreo cookies and instead topped this with Reeses peanut butter cups. I also put this in a 9x13 pan as it wasn't going to fit well in my trifle dish. I also used two 3.9 oz. boxes of chocolate pudding and one 8 oz. container of cool whip was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States