Layered Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This is a wonderful party dip. It is pretty and is very easy to prepare. My guests loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I've made this before but added a layer of finely chopped tomato, green onion and finely shredded mozerella cheese on the top layer...I left the olives off altogether. The canned baby shrimp (rinsed) worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Yummmy! I mixed in a few drops of hot sauce; then spread a very thin layer of the cream cheese onto a small platter. Because I was having a small dinner party with other appetizers the plate I used was about the size of a salad plate. Smooth the cream cheese all the way to the 'lip' of the plate (reduced the ingredients). Spread an even layer of cocktail sauce over the cream cheese; I think this sauce can be overpowering so keep it thin. Drain frozen baby shrimp well to spread over the top of the cocktail sauce; next, green onions, chpd tomatoes, & finely shredded mozzeralla cheese as suggested by another reviewer. I also left off the black olives. This makes a pretty dish and I like the thin layers to scoop up with the thin triangular shaped Triscuit crackers. I served with Cheese Easy Squares, honey roasted peanuts; as well as blue chips with a artichoke salsa. A hit with my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I have been making this dip for a long time. There are always several people who go crazy for it and insist I make it again for them. I use half cream cheese and half mayonnaise as the base and add a layer of shredded mozarella cheese. It goes great with Ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Love it. I make this ALL the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This was quick and easy and all of my guests loved it! I added shredded mozzerella cheese on top and finely chopped red and yellow bell peppers for some extra colour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I made this last night with rave reviews. I didn't use any green onions and used regular sized shrimp. I layered the cream cheese, cocktail sauce, imitation crab meat that I'd chopped, and then added the shrimp and olives. I sprinkled true lemon packets over the top of it and that added a fabulous taste! I will make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was super easy and really tasty! I used a frozen (thawed) shrimp ring instead of canned baby shrimp and it was delicious! Almost can't stop eating it. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Voth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I omitted the olives because, although they would have looked pretty, I don't care for them. I mixed 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, 1 Tbsp white horseradish, & a drained & rinsed can of crab meat into WHIPPED cream cheese. This soft cream cheese made it easier to mix & also scoop up when serving. I cut one pound of shrimp (washed, drained,& dried) into about 1 inch pieces. I brought the dip, which I'd layered in a glass pie plate & covered with plastic wrap, in a plastic cake carrier to a party last night & it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is a regular at family holiday get togethers. We usually have it with diced tomatoes, bell peppers, scallions, cheese, and black olives on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sidney, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States