Layered Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Gotta do the ganache filling! I had no problem with the layers separating, but I didn't refrigerate the first layer for more than just a few minutes. That way the layers kind of fuse together. If you let the white chocolate completely harden I can see where it might separate. The soft ganache inner layer makes me think of a truffle filling and contrasts wonderfully with the hard white chocolate and peppermint bits. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Leeson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Easy to make, looks pretty. Perfect for gifts. Very impressed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made this to give to neighbors as Christmas gifts. The flavor is very good, and it was easy to make and pretty. Make sure you seal the two layers of white chocolate together at the edges. The middle chocolate layer is softer and creamier because of the cream, and sealing the edges will make it easier to cut. Mine separated where I didn't have the layers sealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
The best peppermint bark ever - I think this will be my 4th year making it! Don't fear the double boiler, be sure to stir slowly so you don't allow air bubbles in the ganache. My family & friends beg for this stuff, nothing compares. Thank you to the creator or whoever came up with this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is fantastic peppermint bark! I thought it might have too strong of a peppermint taste, but it was perfect. I made the recipe exactly as shown and had no issues. With the cream in the chocolate layer the consistency is more of a ganache, but putting it in the fridge between layers, per the instructions, hardened it right up! I have already shared the link to the recipe with several people! An easy holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brebes4
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I left out the cream, as it kept causing my chocolate to seize, and I found I didn't need it to make the chocolate spreadable. Easy and delectable! However, a word of warning: do not mix peppermint extract with the dark chocolate either. I tried twice and threw out 2 bags of chocolate because the additive makes the chocolate seize. The solution was just to add the peppermint extract to the white chocolate instead, which mixed a little better. These make a great gift and a beautiful addition to a cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Loved this! Just make sure you've completely melted the chocolate before spreading, or it will be difficult to work with. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe. This is so delecious and easy to made. I didn't have heavy cream so I made it my own. I didn't use all the white chocolate because it seems too much and thick when I spred it over the dark chocolate. It turns out good, too. The chocolates that I used is for cooking and it will melt if I take it out from refrigerator for too long. Not so sure if others have the same issue or not. It's time consuming to cut the white chocolate but it's really worthed. I'll made this again. Thank you to share this recepi to all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I am making this for the 5th Xmas eve in a row, exactly as written. Each year my technique impoves and the original recipe makes more sense. The only thing I still need to perfect is my timing -- I am getting so speedy that I had the 2nd layer melted before the first was cooled. But after 5 years it's time to say thanks for a great recipe! My kids help me make this, it is relatively simple and they can all contribute (my 8 year old just unwrapped and smashed the peppermints). We all look forward to seeing this recipe on our cookie tray, thank you carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by printemps98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Even better with dark chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States