Layered Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I left out the cream, as it kept causing my chocolate to seize, and I found I didn't need it to make the chocolate spreadable. Easy and delectable! However, a word of warning: do not mix peppermint extract with the dark chocolate either. I tried twice and threw out 2 bags of chocolate because the additive makes the chocolate seize. The solution was just to add the peppermint extract to the white chocolate instead, which mixed a little better. These make a great gift and a beautiful addition to a cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Loved this! Just make sure you've completely melted the chocolate before spreading, or it will be difficult to work with. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe. This is so delecious and easy to made. I didn't have heavy cream so I made it my own. I didn't use all the white chocolate because it seems too much and thick when I spred it over the dark chocolate. It turns out good, too. The chocolates that I used is for cooking and it will melt if I take it out from refrigerator for too long. Not so sure if others have the same issue or not. It's time consuming to cut the white chocolate but it's really worthed. I'll made this again. Thank you to share this recepi to all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I am making this for the 5th Xmas eve in a row, exactly as written. Each year my technique impoves and the original recipe makes more sense. The only thing I still need to perfect is my timing -- I am getting so speedy that I had the 2nd layer melted before the first was cooled. But after 5 years it's time to say thanks for a great recipe! My kids help me make this, it is relatively simple and they can all contribute (my 8 year old just unwrapped and smashed the peppermints). We all look forward to seeing this recipe on our cookie tray, thank you carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by printemps98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Even better with dark chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
So easy and TOTALLY kicks traditional bark up a notch. This is a big hit every year, I don't change a thing and it's creamy on the inside with a great snap and crunch on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Great recipe. Only change was using half the tbsps cream to start out with, and then adding in more if I thought it needed it. I made this as Christmas gifts, and everyone absolutely loved it and couldn't believe I made it myself. I crushed my own peppermint, and it was a disaster, so I started using the WilliamsSonoma precrushed peppermint. This was the way to go if you don't mind spending the extra money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Way better than other versions I have tried. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Absolutely my favorite peppermint bark. The "ganache" center makes it unique and so delicious! I make this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made this recipe to send to friends and family in a Christmas cookie box! Everyone loved it, even my husband who isn't particularly a fan of white chocolate or peppermint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4-5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainbow City, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Make-it-Yours Sweet and Salty Bark

See how to make bark candy topped with sweet and salty snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States