Layered Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Great peppermint bark, I made EXACTLY per recipe. NEXT TIME I will do this: 1) Omit cream from chocolate, it makes it too soft and melts on hands too easily. 2) Melt ALL of the white chocolate at one time and spread on sheet, layer with 1/4 crushed candy 3) Spread all of the semisweet chocolate on top of chilled white chocolate, the semisweet chocolate has a strong flavor, so make the top layer of the semisweet chocolate thinner than the white chocolate ( I was temped to use equal parts chocolate just because I had the semisweet chips left). 4) Sprinkle with the rest of the crushed peppermint candy. Like I said, I tried the exact recipe and the semisweet chocolate didn't ever set up correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandymuggins
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Excellent recipe. I only gave it 4 starts since I modified it after reading another review. I omitted the cream. I used crushed candy canes (4) and folded them into the white chocolate. I didn't have any peppermint extract so I just drizzled plain melted dark chocolate over the white choc/candy cane mixture and then cut thru it with a knife - so it looked swirly & pretty. Then I topped it with the remaining crushed candy cane. Chilled it, then flipped it on the counter and cut it when it was room temp. It looks beautiful and is a hit on the holiday baking tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great dessert! I didn't swirl the chocolates together.... it all turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ragle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CKandi007
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I got great reviews on my bark! I used about 1 lb of both milk and white chocolate for a 9x13 dish and also used peppermint oil vs extract. I crushed 12 candy canes and sifted the finer pieces out for the first layer and then topped everything off with the coarser pieces. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKandi007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made it just like the recipe said and used ghirardelli chocolate. It was a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made the recipe almost exactly as shown, though I used semi-sweet instead of dark chocolate, and used 24 oz of white and 12 oz semi-sweet (chocolate chips in 12 oz bags). I used the creme in the middle layer, and it was not too soft, as some reviews said, but a great contrast to the hard white chocolate on the top and bottom. I "chilled" each layer in the refrigerator so that the next layer could be spread over easily, and it has stayed hard, even after completely warming to room temp. I took this to a holiday party and got a lot of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Well I will start off saying this is my first time trying candies... I do not like the dark chocolate with the white. Also I made just as recipe states with 3 layers (white, dark, white) and I think it is too thick. The dark chocolate is to squishy so when I took layers out to cut up...the dark just squished out as I cut with large cutting knife. When I try this again I shall not add the cream as someone had mentioned. I will not do 3 layers, just 2 layers as in the picture. And I will try semi sweet chocolate instead of dark. Happy Holidays all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I think next time I will try a slighty larger pan to make it just a bit thinner bc this recipe seemed to be a little thick, but other excellent! I did not have a double broiler but was able to make do just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made this because it sounded s-o-o-o good. It tastes good-----BUT. When it came time to cut it the Dark Chocolate layer completely serperated from the bottom. In fact, the bottom white chocolate layer was left as an almost solid sheet. I was going to take this as a refreshment to a concerty of my wife's. I ended up munching on it at home (it was edible) and throwing the rest away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Fabulous! I accidentally put in way too much peppermint extract into the dark chocolate layer, but it tasted perfect. I did as others suggested and sifted the broken candy canes and added the "peppermint dust" to the white chocolate layer. I did the dark chocolate in a double boiler, but then just did the white chocolate in the microwave. Both came out great. I did dark on bottom, white, then sprinkled the peppermint in on the top. A lot of it fell out when I was breaking the bark, so next time I think I will either push it in harder or do as other recipes suggest and put the peppermint pieces on the bottom, pour white chocolate layer over, then dark chocolate layer on the top. (invert when ready to serve).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Make-it-Yours Sweet and Salty Bark

See how to make bark candy topped with sweet and salty snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States