Layered Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this three times this holiday season - once for home and two batches to give as gifts. I found it easiest to line a small baking pan with tin foil and then "paint" the first layer of chocolate on with a silicone spatula. I let it cool, threw it in the freezer for 10 minutes and then "painted" on the next layer, etc. The "painting" really helps create even layers and the freezing ensures the solid layers don't melt too much as you put the warmer melted chocolate on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OPENDESTINY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Hills, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
In the midst of busy preparations 2 days before Christmas, I am taking the time to review this recipe because it is so amazing! There is absolutely NO reason to change a thing about this recipe--it's perfect as is! I used Ghirardelli white and dark chocolate and Bob's Sweet Stripes, a softer peppermint stick candy I found at WalMart for 88 cents a box (used 2 boxes). The chocolate ganache in the middle is what makes this. I went by the instructions step by step and absolutely love the results. I make peppermint bark every Christmas--this will be the recipe I use from now on. Thank you for sharing this outstanding recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Amazing!!! I didn't have any peppermint extract, so I used the finely crushed candy canes in the dark chocolate. It so easy and really, really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
taste great. the preperation was a little difficult. white chips did not melt, so i added a swig of water. I didn't have enough chips to spread over the pan for either layer. i agree with another poster that the bark is not hard, but a little chewy. in addition the white top layer muddied with the middle chocolate layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Yummy!! I ended up using milk chocolate chips, and white chocolate chips, and candy canes(instead of the round peppermint candies) but it was yummy all the same! Everyone who tried it loved it too. I will totally be making this candy again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
After melting the dark chocolate, I added the heavy cream and peppermint and the chocolate promptly separated. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I never made Peppermint Bark before, this was my first time, and it was *Delish!* The only thing that I didn't like was that the bark became soft and rubber-like if I left it out of the refrigerator (after I was complete with the recipe). I googled this result and it appears that it was because I did not temper the chocolate. I melted the chocolate in a double broiler and was careful not to scorch it...but even after chilling between layers, and chilling over night upon completion...it still got soft when left out at room temp (about 72 degrees). So, this was disappointing to me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This bark was completely great and successful until the top layer. The middle chocolate layer is way too creamy....and when I went to spread HOT white chocolate on top, it softened the ganache layer too much and the brown mixed with the white making a mess. I tried to "swirl" it to recover it, but in the end, it was a mess. It still tasted good. But next time I will definitely put less cream in so the middle layer hardens better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I wouldn't omit a thing. The ganache layer is what makes this recipe. I am not a big fan of peppermint, but I love this recipe. It has been a big hit with my friends and co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The first time I made this treat, I followed the recipe and found it a little thick. The second time, I used 1/2 the amount of white chocolate which really brought out the dark chocolate center - yummy!! This treat was a hit at our Christmas Party! I had many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Make-it-Yours Sweet and Salty Bark

See how to make bark candy topped with sweet and salty snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States