Layered Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
As an old time maker of this delicious treat it is important to get the timing of adding the white chocolate to the dark chocolate at right time. Everyone always say to chill the white chocolate. I never do. I keep an eye on it and when the chocolate loses that super glossy look that shows that it is "setting up" that is when I add the white chocolate. I must add that I live in New Mexico and we keep the house "coolish" so if you have a hot kitchen and want to put the dish in the fridge, go ahead, but watch it every minutes. Putting one chocolate on top of another "cold chocolate" does not allow the two chocolates to hold on very well and will let the white chocolate come off of the dark when you go to cut it. I follow the rest of the recipe, more or less, to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was nice and easy. super tasty and makes a LARGE batch! what i did different: I used a bit more dark 12 oz because i like dark chocolate. Also I used candy canes (tis the season) which means i didn't have to peel all those separate candies. i put mint in between each layer. i also do not have a double boiler, so i put a bowl over boiling water and it worked just fine. didn't want to spend the money on something i might only use once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommydeux
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I made these tonight for the first time (& for a sale item for my son's school fundraiser, so I was a little nervous). I must say, I haven't eaten one yet, but my husband and kids have and they said they were amazing. I should post a picture of my kitchen after this, but will spare you the gory details and I have posted a pic of my bark instead. I used molds and used white choc, semi, milk, & dark choc. Ghiradelli & Hershey's were the brands I used. Thank you for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommydeux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Amy Sullivan
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
it was ok, my friends preferred the classic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sullivan
Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I love this recipe! I have made it for Christmas gifts and the recipients have begged me for more. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was a perfect recipe for my friend's annual cookie/confection exchange party, and it went well until it came to the cutting part. The top layer was splitting away from the bottom two. I deduced this must have happened because I sprinkled the dust from the crushed candies between the first two layers,but not the last one. I will definitely make this yummy bark again, but this time I will dust BOTH layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This turned out excellent exactly as written. SO rich and yummy. Way better than any store bought peppermint bark we have ever tried. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyasMommy
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Awesome. Simple, delicious. I used bittersweet instead of dark and it turned out just wonderful. Everyone who had some wanted the recipe. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Yum! I was a little preoccupied while making this, so I missed the part where I was only supposed to put 1/2 the white chocolate on the bottom, so I ended up with the full amount of white on the bottom and another smaller layer on the top. I omitted the heavy cream because I was out and it turned out tasty anyway. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I've made this a few times. It's pretty and indulgent! The mint flavor is mild but doubling the flavor starts to overwhelm the chocolate flavor in my opinion/experience. To "temper" the chocolate: Reserve small pieces of chocolate (1/3 of total amount for that layer) before melting. Melt 2/3 of the chocolate over a double boiler until almost completely melted. Remove from heat/boiler (being careful to wipe off any moisture from the insert to prevent the chocolate from seizing up accidentally) and stir in the reserved chocolate until completely smooth. This will bring the chocolate to about the right temperature for spreading (86 degrees F for white or milk choc., and 90 degrees for dark). In my first batch the bottom white layer separated a little from the dark layer once cut. I had much less problems the next time when I made sure there was a mix of coarse and fine candy pieces pressed into the bottom white layer. Perhaps this gave the both layers something more to hold onto when it came time to quickly spread the melted dark chocolate mixture. Lastly, using good quality chocolate does make a difference in the taste of the final product. I prefer using the blocks of Belgium chocolate from a chocolatier as opposed to Bakers' chocolate chunks. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States