Layered Patchwork Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I'm really thinking this may be a 2-star, but I ate it so we'll go with 3. I read all the reviews and followed some of the tips. I cut the pepper in half, added 4 chicken bouillon cubes, and at about 10-minutes to done I added 3 cups of crisp veggies. It was still bland. It smelled amazing, but had no flavor at all. I doctored my bowl with additional pepper, salt, and garlic powder. It helped tremendously. IF I make this again, and that's a big IF, I'll be including the full amount of pepper and then some, lots more salt, and a fair amount of garlic powder. I might even consider adding some crushed garlic sauteed with chicken and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I omitted salt from the seasoning packet. When I cooked up the soup, I used only 8 cups of water, knowing that I like thick stews. I added 2 carrots, a sliced clove of garlic, and 2 kale leaves. This was ready to serve in 35 minutes. There are so many possibilities of adding additional veggies! Next time I will cut the amount of pepper in half for the sake of DH, but I enjoyed the amount in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
i don't know if i did something wrong, or what, but this did not turn out well. this is the first thing i've made in years that we just could not eat. i litteraly labled the leftovers as fail sauce, to warn my roommates it wasn't any good. i was hoping there would be some way to salave it, but i eneded up having to throw it out. luckily the ingredients were cheep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I wanted to do a soup-in-a-jar mix for colleagues and less-close friends, and I'm glad I tried this before I just "wrapped" it. The original recipe is gelatinous and downright gross. I tweaked it a bit, and it was delicious the second time around. I omitted rice (since that's what made it so sticky) while keeping the same water amount, doubled the garlic powder, used cumin instead of sage, and added 1/4 cup chicken stock powder (would have preferred beef but grocery was out). I also sauteed the onion in olive oil before adding lentils/barley/peas. So good. The changes are easy enough to put in instructions, so I'll give out my tweaked version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very yummy! It has enough flavor that you don't even miss that it doesn't have meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I rarely give out one's, but sorry, I just had to this time. I started making this as is, except I used regular garlic power instead of granulated. (From what I can tell, granulated is the same as powdered but bigger pieces, like salt.) I then DOUBLED all the spices except the salt and it still tasted like flavored water. (Bland isn't the proper word. And I don't know how anyone could think the pepper or sage were over-powering. I tasted about nothing.) I did notice at least a couple of the 5's are people who doctored it up. I started adding some bouillon just cause I couldn't see more spices doing anything, and ended up adding 5 bouillon cubes. That finally made it "reasonable." I had both barley & lentils I needed to use up, plus I like having a big pot of soup that I can eat for 2-3 days -- so it seemed like a bright idea to make the whole recipe even just for me, but sorry I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Brandi
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I really enjoyed the soup. I thought the pepper would be over whelming, so I cut it in half (most recipes seem to have a 2:1 ratio of salt to pepper). My children didn't care for the strong sage flavor, but I enjoyed it. I also used brown rice instead of white. To give the gift jars more color, I used 1/4 c green and 1/4 c yellow split peas as well as 1/4 c red lentils and 1/4 c regular lentils. I found some 3" x 4" clear treat bags in the wedding section at Walmart for the spice packet. I tied with ribbon and used a cute holiday gift tag I found on a scrapbooking site for free (shabbyprincess.com). I put the instructions on the back of the tag. Overall I really like this recipe and would make it again as well as give it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made this soup "as is" since I planned on giving it out as gifts and I wanted us to try it the way it was presented. It is a good soup, and makes a LOT. For us personally, next time I will doctor it up a bit, add more garlic, maybe some bouillon, etc. For leftovers we added smoked sausage. I picked it over the myriad of soup mixes because it could be given to my vegetarian friends, and because it was so simple. Look for red lentils if you can find them. It was pretty in the jar, and well received. I put the spices in a snack-sized ziplock bag and stuffed it in the top of the jar. It all fit very nicely. I also used brown rice instead of white rice. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
After reading the other reviews I used the recipe as a base. I fried 2 onions and 2 teaspoons of fresh garlic in the pot before adding the other ingredients. I added a teaspoon of vegetable stock powder, one chopped chilli, a cup of dried chickpeas, some fresh herbs from the garden eg parsley, oregano & basil, and a tin of crushed tomatoes. I also used a cup of pasta which I added at the end of the cooking time instead of the rice. I had to add an extra 4 cups of water during cooking. NB: The pepper is not overwhelming! This is a great winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
A good basic soup, but I found it bland. I would recommend increasing the seasoning. However, a friend to whom I gave this "jar mix" loved the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States