Layered Pasta, Veggie and Cheese Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I actually liked it!! I did tweek recipie some. I did use i think del monte garlic and onion sauce. whatever sauce you want is fine. 1 10-16oz can of sauce is fine and 1/2 cup water. I did half ricatta and half cottage cheese. I also added more cheese. 1 cup of mixed white cheeses: mozorella, italian cheese mix and parmesian. Used in the mix w/ ricatta/ cottage cheese and spinach. Topped with all cheeses. I do not know what "trumpet" shaped pasta is so i used bow-tie...lol... worked just fine!! I did put on stove and cooked in cast iron skillet and put also in oven for about 15 minutes or so as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
You may have difficulty finding the Chunky & Savory version of the ‘Veggie Smart Italian Sauce’ and ‘trumpet-shaped pasta’. Go with your favorite pasta sauce and smaller shaped pasta, and you’ll be fine. Read this recipe carefully as directions could be written more clearly. I messed up by combining all the ingredients together under Step 1 when intended to be two separate mixtures. That gets clarified when 3 things are layered together in Step 2. Frankly, I’m not sure if this didn’t simplify the recipe without losing any taste or texture. This was pretty good but dull and boring when it came to flavor. Adding a few spices not included in the ingredient list quickly and easily fixed that concern. Some was leftover, and it had more flavor the second day. I will use this as a base recipe next time, and deviate by introducing more seasonings. I believe this recipe is extremely flexible, and an Alfredo sauce w/ Cajun shrimp could be added to make a skillet pasta dish. I also suspect kale could be subbed for spinach/arugula, and other veggies could be added. The main prep time issue is boiling water & cooking pasta. If that is done beforehand (or you have leftover pasta on hand), this dish could be ready to serve in less than 30 minutes. A 10 oz. tub of baby spinach and a 15 oz. ricotta cheese will leave about 25% of each unused {next time, the entire amount of each container is going in}.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We enjoyed this dish and wouLd only make one change, which would be to eliminate the water or cut it way back. The dish had way too much liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I was really hopeful for this for some reason but it really did not turn out to be flavorful in any way. I followed the recipe as directed and it lacked any wow-factor. Oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
We had an abundance of arugula from my husbands work so I was looking for recipes that used a good amount of of it. I was hugely disappointed by the outcome of this recipe because it turned out REALLY bland. BUT, I think this is a great base for a great dish. The next time I plan to eliminate the water like one of the other reviews suggested. I also plan to add a layer of mozzarella as well. I also plan to add fresh chopped tomatoes and bell pepper, tomato paste and a small can of tomato sauce to the the sauce. I might add some spicy italian sausage to the dish as well. I will definitely be adding salt to it as well. :) I will add to the review when I have tried these additions!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Great tasting dish that is easy! The only thing I did differently was to make my own Italian sauce. It's so easy and you don't get all the extra preservatives they add to a jar. It's fresh! I didn't add the water either. I will continue to make this dish, especially when I need something quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maribor, Štajerska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I did tweak this a bit. I added 3 links of hot italion sausage, some onion, oregeno, Italion seasoning, bell pepper. Didn't have ricotta, so I used cottage cheese. Tasted great; no left overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
A little bland, but nothing some nutmeg or maybe some ground red pepper won't fix next time. Super easy to make, I baked in an 8x8 casserole dish rather than in the skillet in the oven for 15 minutes at 350. Overall I think this is a great basic recipe made even better with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States