Layered Mint Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Like many before me, I made one substitution and switched out the confectioner's coating for white chocolate chips and 2T canola oil. Results were amazing: great presentation, simple recipe, and delicious taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have made this fudge for quite a few years and my family & friends love it. Very easy to make, not too sweet and actually the peppermint helps to settle the stomach also. I make a batch of red and then green so I can mix them when giving out. Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made 1 1/2 batch of the chocolate layer and kept the mint layer as written. This was soooooooo good. Another reviewer wrote that the peppermint flavor was too strong. I disagree, I think it's perfect. Also be careful b/c if you add the extract while the confectioner's coating is too hot the flavor will cook off. Take the pan off the burner, then stir it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was easy to make and turned out very good! I made it in a 9x5 inch loaf pan. I did one batch of green and one batch of red. Special thanks to Keri for helping me out with this on the recipe exchange. I'm giving these as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Nice smooth texture, super easy! Used Creme de Menthe instead of extract because that was all I had. It worked fine, just not as strong of a mint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I can't believe I haven't rated/reviewed this recipe yet! It's a great fudge recipe - the ONLY one I've ever been able to make where the final result was nice and smooth, not grainy. I also like to change this up a bit sometimes by making the middle layer a different flavor. I've used orange and raspberry with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
2nd time I've made this fudge...first time was a disaster. Great flavor, but the mint part wouldn't even spread. This time, wasn't thinking and doubled BOTH the chocolate and the white recipes. OOPS! Definitely doubling the white is great to top the 8x8 pan, but you do not need to double the chocolate. Use a full 14oz can of sweetened condensed milk for each the chocolate and the mint, and it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is so good, just melts in your mouth. Made it last year for a work bake contest and won 2nd place!!! Everyone wanted the recipe for it. I'm going to make it again this year for a fundraiser bake sale at work. I did double the recipe and used a large rectangular glass dish and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Perhaps I've done something wrong. I found that only 12 oz. of chocolate chips didn't make a lot of fudge to divide in half. Plus, when I used white chocolate chips in lieu of baking chocolate, the white chocolate mixture gave off a watery residue. I ended up throwing away the white chocolate portion, sprinkled some Andes candies pieces on top of the first half of the fudge and covered it with the balance of the chocolate fudge. If I make this again, I will follow the recipe exactly. I also found 8 oz. of condensed milk from a 14 oz. jar didn't leave much left for the white chocolate portion (I used a liquid measuring cup to measure the 8 oz). I'd be curious to know if anyone else had this same problem. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very good, similar to Andes mints. I found the mint flavor a bit too strong, though, I would halve it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States