Layered Mint Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I was surprised it did not require the use of a double boiler. It was hard to get the temperature right to melt the chocolate and not burn it then it cooled so soft that you could not really pour it. (I'm talking about it literally taking about 10 to 15 seconds to cool enough to not be workable.) The perfectionist in me hated that I could not regulate the temperature enough to actually pour it and get a smooth layer... It looked so sloppy. The flavor was so-so. There are better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Turned out great! I did things a little differently with what I had on hand, but yum! I used 1 bag of semi-sweet MINT chocolate chips for the bottom and white chocolate chips for the top. I didnt try and triple layer it, just two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I was looking for a quick no fuss treat to take to the family holiday meal and came across this recipe. I doubled the ingredients and put it in a 13X9 cake pan. It was great. My kids were disappointed when there were no leftovers to bring home. They have been begging me to make it constantly. I have had several family members call and ask for the recipe. Everyone can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
We made simple changes: Crushed candy canes instead of the extract (my daughter loved crushing them, and what else do you do with all the candy canes?) We doubled the receipe and used equal parts white chocolate chips as chocolate so our fudge was equal chocolate and peppermint. One other change- we only did 2 layers, chocolate on bottom and peppermint on top. Super easy and both my girls love making (and eating) it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Really simple recipe and tastes great! I would also recommend to double to the recipe to get a nice thick piece of fudge. I made it a little easier and I didn't do the three layers, instead I layed all of the chocolate on bottom and then topped with the mint mixture, still has a nice presence I added green food coloring to the white chocolate mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The more complicated fudge recipes are usually reviewed as "grainy," which some people seem to like. Who actually likes grainy fudge? I followed this simple recipe instead and it was perfect. I poured the fudge into a buttered pan of smaller than 9-by-9 dimensions which helped keep it a bit thicker. (Other reviewers have pointed out that with a 9-by-9 pan you might need to double the recipe to keep the fudge from being too thin.) I used Ghiradelli 60% cocoa chips, which my wife pointed out are technically bittersweet as opposed to semisweet - but it was absolutely fantastic. By the way, I liked the fudge to be chilled and she preferred it room temperature. Try it both ways to see how you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
It just didn't have that fudgey texture and the mint got tiresome pretty quickly. Still satisfies a chocolate craving though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicholas DiOrio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
DO NOT MAKE THIS!!! I could not help myself and probably gained 10 pounds... seriously :) Super easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Although this is a "lazy" fudge, this was easy and tasted good! will probably make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this fudge exactly as the recipe states and as far as I'm concerned it's perfect. My 13 yr. old granddaughter couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States