Layered Enchilada Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This has been around for a long time, but continues to be a "fan favorite" at our house. Some variations are always available with the layering of the dish. Have used a layer of re-fried beans, or Spanish Rice to add some texture, but the basic build as suggested in the original receipt is a winner. For hunters..this is a great way to use your ground venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 3boxers
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was a quick, easy and delicious meal! I changed a couple of items, instead of black beans I used leftover homemade chili beans and I omitted the Italian dressing altogether. I mixed taco seasoning in with the sour cream and used colby-jack cheese. Lastly, I topped it off with green onion. My family (hubby and two young boys) had this dish along with grilled corn on the cob, it was a winner! I will certainly make this again, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Really liked this. Easy to make ahead of time. Used 1 pkg of taco seasoning instead of other dried seasoning and italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
the recipe itself wasn't bad but we made a few modifications and then we loved it! instead of using the italian dressing we used half a pack of beef taco seasoning and less salsa we also added medium chopped chili peppers. for the sour cream and cheese instead of layering them we mixed the sour cream cheese and the rest of the taco seasoning. we also used corn tortillas instead of flour since we like the corn better at our house. after all of the changes it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I'm not sure what I was expecting, but this was different. I used a homemade salsa and taco seasoning rather than Italian dressing. (This was after reading other reviews.) I agree with others that it doesn't make the best presentation, but it does go together quickly and is pretty tasty. For us, it's good comfort food in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
The sour cream made it soo creamy! Next time I think I'll make it spicier though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My husband thought they were okay but my brother and I thought they were delicious. I added the taco mix also and turned them into burritos instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I made this for my family and we really enjoyed it. I didnt add the Zesty Italian dressing as some had suggested, and I used 1 cup salsa and 1 can diced tomatoes instead of the 2 cups salsa. I also chopped up some lettuce and let everyone put it on top of it which made a huge difference. I think it needed a little more sour cream so next time I make it Im going to add just a little more and I also want to try olives on it as well. All in all it was a great starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missjingleighpoo5
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was very good, but I made some changes. There is a ''cottage cheese chicken enchilada'' recipe on that site that is one of my new favorites, so I kind of mixed these two recipes together. I boiled and shredded some chicken for the meat mixture. I added minced garlic and taco season to the meat as well as the onion (after i boiled the chicken and shredded it, I mixed these ingredients in a skillet). Instead of just using sour cream, i mixed sour cream and cottage cheese and this was the layer I used for the top of the meat mixture. I left out the Italian dressing. I topped it with some sliced black olives and tomatoes. It was very good. My s.o. gave this four stars! I think I will be making this again for the 'rents as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missjingleighpoo5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
We really liked this recipe. A few things I changed: I put in a little additional italian dressing, a tablespoon of chile powder, and 1/2 a packet of taco seasoning. I also put olives in with the layers and I would put the sour cream in with the meat/bean mixture instead of on top. All in all, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States