Layered Enchilada Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I rate this as 3.5 stars. The casserole structure makes this dish crowd-friendly, and it is an easy enough recipe for a beginner. However, I took off a half star because there was excess liquid after baking (the tortillas absorb it after refrigerating, but fresh from the oven it creates an unappetizing appearance). And 1 full star off because the Italian dressing gives an unpleasant tangy taste - it absolutely does not blend with the dish. I think the intent was to imitate the tanginess of lime (typical to Mexican cuisine) with a more common ingredient, but next time I will use 2 Tbsp fajita/taco seasoning with a squeeze of lime/lemon juice to replace the Italian dressing & chile pepper. Also recommend adding some sliced olives to the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This makes for a very easy, healthy and yummy supper. I had to modify the recipe though. The Italian Dressing would not fly with my husband, not at all. I changed the salsa to one can of diced tomatoes, and the Italian dressing to taco mix flavouring. I didn't use any sour cream, but layered in chopped up yellow, red and green peppers. Husband friendly and can be made, portioned and frozen to use as needed for lunches. Thanks for the great meal recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was delicious! My husband and I both really liked it. I would have to completely disagree with the reviewers who said the Italian dressing wasn't good in it. It was just fine, and blended in well with the flavours. You can't taste the dressing distinctly, it just adds to the overall flavour. Also I used the exact amount of chili powder in the recipe, and it was perfect. I will be making this again! Hopefully with the black beans next time (didn't have any so made it without them) =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very Good!! I used lemon juice with only half of the dressing and added taco mix to the meat.... turned out very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
My husband loved this!!!! It was very tasty and made great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I made a commitment to cook at home more & this recipe made it really easy. I did modify the recipe by not adding the Italian dressing. Substituted 1 tablespoon of chili powder with cumin & added chopped jalapenos. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We've have this twice. My 7yo loves it, and eat it up. He doesn't like beans and onions, but he cleans his plate every time we have this for dinner! It's great as a lunch the next day (my husband has have to fight people off his lunch when they smell it and an see it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This casserole has become a staple in my Once a Month cooking rotation. It freezes well, and tastes great even a few months later. I like the beans, and have started adding black beans to taco meat in other recipes to stretch it out and add nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Great dish! Had my super picky sister & brother-in-law over and they both had second helpings and even took some home. I did make a few adjustments...I used ground turkey instead of beef, only used 1 tablespoon chili powder and added a few dashes of cumin and one cup frozen corn. I baked mine in stoneware and had no excess water or crunchy tortillas. Will be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna King
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was really good as a base. I didn't add the dressing, and added enough salsa to saturate the beef. I also used cumin instead of chili powder, but I think either is just as good. Very yummy and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States