Layered Eggplant Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I used this recipe as a jumping off place and used the recommendations from several reviews to make the most INCREDIBLE eggplant dish. I used a pound of ground chicken and a pound of chicken sausage, cooked with thin chopped onions, fresh parsley, fresh garlic and spices. I had grilled red and yellow peppers, so I chopped and added them to the meat mixture along with a cup of fresh sliced mushrooms, a can of petite chopped tomatoes and a jar of marinara sauce. I chopped the eggplant into 1.5" to 2" squares. I used 2 cups of whole wheat bread crumbs and 1.5 cups of shredded mozzarella. I layered the meat sauce, eggplant, bread crumbs, mozzarella, another layer of meat sauce and topped with a good sprinkle of parmesan. I put it all together in an electric skillet set at 250 degrees, covered and simmered for 20 minutes. Everything blended perfectly and we were thrilled with the flavors and seasonings. It's definitely a recipe that will be used for company. It's healthy and tastes amazing. I'm proud to serve it along with a lovely green salad including crasins, walnuts, carrots, and sliced cucumbers with a Catalina dressing. We had a small bowl of sliced strawberries with a dollop of light whipped cream for dessert. Oh my, what a satisfying dinner. HURRAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Used tomatoe sauce instead of tomatoes and less parsley, but other than that followed the recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was perfect for a cold winter evening. I used mozzarella between the layers and jar sauce since I had them on hand. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and we both thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was okay. My husband said it was delicious but I felt like the eggplant would have made a better statement in another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I peel the eggplant and also add a layer of mozzarella and some ricotta just like a lasagna. I just use tomato sauce and fresh diced tomatoes because I never seem to have canned tomatoes or paste so why bother? I also slice my onions paper thin for kid sake. Very good recipe that's always a hit and leftovers are always eaten by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This recipe is AWESOME!! I have 4 children from 14 to 1 and they all ate it and asked for more. I made it just as the recipe said and figured I would have to change it up the second time but I was suprosed when it was great the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Guetersloh Wiese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I loved it, but I like eggplant. My husband, who doesn't like eggplant liked it, but said it needed more cheese and more tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is Delicious!!!!! Used mozzarella, can of chopped tomatoes, & can of spag sauce.... Cubed eggplant. Baked 60 min...... Mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Cermak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millstadt, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was great! I only used one cup of water, added a layer of mushrooms instead of the sliced onion and added shredded mozzarella to the top during the last 20 min. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kkhymn
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
My friend recommended this recipe, and I tried it last night. It was great! Seasoning is perfect and not overwhelming, and even non-eggplant lovers will enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkhymn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States