Layered Eggplant Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I made this recipe with ground lamb instead of hamburger and found it the best ground meat casserole I have found. It is well seasoned, but not too spicy. The sliced onions and unpeeled eggplant give it a good texture. Easy to make; delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This was easy to make. I love eggplant and thought this was a great way to get my family to eat it. The leftovers weren't as good as the original so I might make less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This recipe is a winner! It was received with applause by my family. Leftovers delicious warmed in microwave. I substituted ground turkey for the hamburg(as I usually do in recipes). The next time I make it I will drizzle a little olive oil over each layer as I put it together. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
YAHOO!! I just sat through a dinner with my twin 3.5 year olds telling me "This is delicious" while shoveling eggplant into their mouths. I made a very simplified version of this recipe. The tomato etc that gets mixed with the ground beef sounded like spaghetti sauce to me so I just used Mids (A.K.A. "the best") jarred sauce. Like some other reviewers I skipped the onion layer. Assembly took 10 minutes! Cook time was just a little less than a Disney video on a rainy day. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you allrecipes.com_______ Too funny. It is 4 years later and I just came across this review from one of my first uses of this website. Guess what? My kids still ASK for this dish about once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Very, very good! I had to use mushroom spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato paste because it was what I had on hand, also I only had half the amount of parmesan cheese and it was all that was really needed. I only used half as much beef as well because I always try to cut back. This turned out to be very yummy! Thank you for this recipe, it's my new favorite way to cook eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
A one dish wonderful meal. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
this was good. i added sliced sweet red papers and garlic to the sauce. everyone liked it.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I used ground chicken. The sauce itself was really good and would even be good alone on some noodles. I think it could have used a little less water...and I used 2 cups as is. I also used 1/2 parm and 1/2 mozz. I only cooked it for 30 minutes covered and 30 minutes uncovered and it came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Easy, tasty and filling. Will make again. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I was hesitant to make this since I had never cooked with eggplant before, but because I had bought an eggplant earlier in the week, I thought I would give this recipe a try and it sounded good. The prep time was minimal and my husband ate almost half of the pan, so I'd say he really liked it. I enjoyed the eggplant and will definitely make again. Oh, I added zucchini to this too - it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~NorCal Mom~

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States