Layered Eggplant Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This was good. We don't usually eat eggplant much, but I like to through it other different vegies in our diet once in a while. I added three small onions to meat & layered with zucchini instead of the extra onion. I used some parmesan and mozzeralla. It seemed to be missing a spice?? I served with mashed cauliflower and sourcream or cottage cheese. I will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
YAHOO!! I just sat through a dinner with my twin 3.5 year olds telling me "This is delicious" while shoveling eggplant into their mouths. I made a very simplified version of this recipe. The tomato etc that gets mixed with the ground beef sounded like spaghetti sauce to me so I just used Mids (A.K.A. "the best") jarred sauce. Like some other reviewers I skipped the onion layer. Assembly took 10 minutes! Cook time was just a little less than a Disney video on a rainy day. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you allrecipes.com_______ Too funny. It is 4 years later and I just came across this review from one of my first uses of this website. Guess what? My kids still ASK for this dish about once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
I liked it but it has way to munch parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
My fiance and I thought this recipe was okay. It probably would've been better if it didn't take so long to put together and bake. I spent almost two hours on a dish that was just okay. I don't think that we'll be making this dish often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This was easy to make. I love eggplant and thought this was a great way to get my family to eat it. The leftovers weren't as good as the original so I might make less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
my husband loved this and said it got better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I made this recipe with ground lamb instead of hamburger and found it the best ground meat casserole I have found. It is well seasoned, but not too spicy. The sliced onions and unpeeled eggplant give it a good texture. Easy to make; delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
Eggplant should be measured by weight. I used about a pound to serve 3 people. I'm not sure if this is the right amount, but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
This didn't taste like I expected. it just didn't go over well with the family. They ended up eating at McDonald or something instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
It tasted like it needed something different, creativity could be very helpful here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States