Layered Eggplant Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was great! Like others, I made a few modifications of my own, but all in all, it was a great success. Even my two-year-old ate well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I still need to perfect it. I must have been tasty because they went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
pretty good - takes awhile to make. I wouldlike to add that greek spice and cheese that goes in the straight up Greek dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Vegetarian alternative included in review. :) My fiancee & I are vegetarians. We joined a CSA this summer & I vowed to cook whatever we received whether I liked it or not. I am not an eggplant fan and am very happy to have stumbled upon this recipe. It made me happy to be eating eggplant for dinner! To make this recipe vegetarian friendly, I made the following substitutions: **1 lb tofu (instead of ground beef) - drained but did not press then crumbled/smooshed well with hands. :) **1 cup of water (did not drain the canned tomatoes or press tofu, so I figured this amount would be fine) **Added - 1 tblsp Vegeta seasoning/soup mix. Not sure what you could use in place of Vegeta but in case you've never heard of it - it's a vegetable based seasoning/soup mix. I have found it to be a great flavor additive when I use tofu in recipes that usually call for meat. Makes the tofu less tofu-y and more just tasty so the recipes taste more like they would if it had meat in it.:) Thanks for super tasty recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAGDYANN422

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
tastes like lasagna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
added some mushrooms and red pepper flakes .. easy and good. made this for a pot luck dinner and was the fist dish to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Easy to prepare, tasted better when eggplant was peeled first. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was good, not great. 1/3 cup dried parsley was a bit much. Used the same amount of fresh parsley. Reduced the water by half and used 1 T Italian seasoning instead of the thyme, oregano and basil. Also, eliminated the onion layer. Needs salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Delicious!! Left out the bread crumbs and only used the juice from the tomato can (instead of the water) but everything else was as written. A bit sweet due to the tomato paste (which I haven't used in awhile and forgot how sweet that is) but it was yummy. Since I didn't used bread crumbs, I made up some gluten-free pizza dough and used the mixture for calzones. Now that was great, too! I'll definitely make again. PS--I liked the onion layer, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I gotta tell you- my family went nuts over this recipe! Mt girls- 12 & 16 had never had eggplant and now they are fans! This is a great recipe to intorduce someone to eggplant- especially kids! WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States