Layered Eggplant Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Made it last night following the recipe as written. Next time I may tweak a few things, but overall very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was tastey. I only had 1lb of ground beef and it was still fine. Next time I's going to cut the water to 1c; there's enough moisture in there without all the extra. Will definately make this again, especially when eggplant is plentiful at the farmer's market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
OMG, so yummy. I would change the name since I think the name sounds unappealing. But, it was so tasty and delish in every way. My 2 year old devoured it, I did and so did my husband who doesn't usually care for eggplant. My 5 year old ate around the eggplant but loved the other parts. I followed the recipe almost to a tee but forgot the parsley. I did use fresh tomatoes from the garden instead of the can. I thought it tasted a bit like lasagna. It was sooooo good, I will add it to my arsenal for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Loved this!! However I changed it just a little. Instead of the dried thyme, oregano and basil, I used a couple of teaspoons of dried fine herbs. I also skipped the tomato paste and water and just used three cups of a good spaghetti sauce and I added a small can of mushrooms to the meat. I sliced some sweet yellow peppers and threw them in with the sliced onion layer! I used more eggplant than the recipe called for as well. My husband ate half the pan by himself!! This was incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This recipe was EXCELLENT!! Reading the reviews i was a little skeptical but decided to make it anyways, because i had a few eggplants laying around that i needed to use. These are the changes i made, i used 5 garlic cloves instead of 2 ( i always use extra garlic in everything!), used only 1 tsp parsley instead of 1/3 cup, 2 medium sized eggplants instead of one, didnt use the extra raw onion layers, used about a cup and a half of bread crumbs instead of 1/2 cup, and instead of parmesan cheese i used white cheddar cheese. I also read a review saying that it needed some salt, so when the ground beef was cooking i used salt and black pepper to taste. also when i added the water and tomato paste and all that to the ground beef i let it simmer a little bit to get the flavor into the ground beef. i will DEFINITELY use this recipe again! A MUST TRY! you just have to doctor it to your taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I followed the recipe as it was written. It was wonderful! A definate keeper! To help others I weighed the 2 smallish eggplants at the store and it was almost 2LBs. It was the perfect amount for this dish. I do peel my eggplant and sprinkle salt them and let them sit about 30 minutes or so to get the bitter out. Then rinse the salt off and pat dry with paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I used leftover sliced baguette instead of bread crumbs, and cheddar instead of parmesan. I also sauteed the onion slices. The dish turned out yummy and filling! Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly except that I used ground turkey to reduce the calorie count. Next time I would use fresh parsely and season the breadcrumbs. It's very tempting to add a few steps and turn this into moussaka, but as is it's a quick recipe that makes a nice entree for under 400 calories if you use turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisewoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
really bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
this is the first year we had eggplant in our garden who knew 1 plant produced so many we have had eggplant once a week and still more coming. so far this is one of our favorites i used turkey hot sausage and sweet sausage everything else as written and it was delicious thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States