Layered Eggplant Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
My family loved it, and I enjoyed it too, even though I'm not a big eggplant fan. I modified it a bit, because I didn't have canned tomatoes or paste- I used a jar of spaghetti sauce, and it worked well. I also used about a cup and a half of mozzarella instead of the parm, inbetween layers. I used almost 2 whole eggplants, and 2lb of ground beef. Thank you for the inspiration, I hope others love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
YAHOO!! I just sat through a dinner with my twin 3.5 year olds telling me "This is delicious" while shoveling eggplant into their mouths. I made a very simplified version of this recipe. The tomato etc that gets mixed with the ground beef sounded like spaghetti sauce to me so I just used Mids (A.K.A. "the best") jarred sauce. Like some other reviewers I skipped the onion layer. Assembly took 10 minutes! Cook time was just a little less than a Disney video on a rainy day. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you allrecipes.com_______ Too funny. It is 4 years later and I just came across this review from one of my first uses of this website. Guess what? My kids still ASK for this dish about once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I followed the recipe as it was written. It was wonderful! A definate keeper! To help others I weighed the 2 smallish eggplants at the store and it was almost 2LBs. It was the perfect amount for this dish. I do peel my eggplant and sprinkle salt them and let them sit about 30 minutes or so to get the bitter out. Then rinse the salt off and pat dry with paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I gave this 4 stars because I made changes. This is a great dish, true comfort food. We love eggplant so to start with I cut the slices thicker, at 1/4 inch they bake to mush, mine were 1/2 inch or a bit more. I also used my own marinara sauce and used a mix of ground beef and sweet Italian sausage. I skipped the onion slices in between the layers completely, they serve no real purpose and add nothing to the casserole. I used bread crumbs on top mixed with a hefty amount of good grated parmesan, in between the layers I added a nice layer of mozzarella and provolone cheese and no bread crumbs. I baked this for 45 minutes covered at 350, then uncovered for 20 at 400. 80-90 minutes in the oven as the recipe calls for is too long. It is unnecessary to salt and allow eggplant to sit to get rid of the bitter, especially when using a cooking method such as this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
Very good flavor. However, I would peel the eggplant next time, especially if children are eating it. Use two eggplants and less onion. Omit layers of onion. Cubing the eggplant might work better. I used a mixture of parmasean and mozzarella cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
While I love eggplant and am always looking for new recipes for it, my husband is a bit of a skeptic. I think I might have started changing his mind with this one! We both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was good, not great. 1/3 cup dried parsley was a bit much. Used the same amount of fresh parsley. Reduced the water by half and used 1 T Italian seasoning instead of the thyme, oregano and basil. Also, eliminated the onion layer. Needs salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This recipe is a winner! It was received with applause by my family. Leftovers delicious warmed in microwave. I substituted ground turkey for the hamburg(as I usually do in recipes). The next time I make it I will drizzle a little olive oil over each layer as I put it together. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2000
Quite tasty - I would reduce the meat by a third and add lots more vegetables like mushrooms and carrots. Looks lovely on the table, but takes a lot of time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I made this recipe with ground lamb instead of hamburger and found it the best ground meat casserole I have found. It is well seasoned, but not too spicy. The sliced onions and unpeeled eggplant give it a good texture. Easy to make; delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States