Layered Eggplant Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Do NOT sweat the eggplant first! I did, and even though I rinsed them completely, it turned out very, very salty. I still gave it four stars, because other than that, it was very good. Besides, my roommates love very salty food and gobbled it up! I will definitely be doing this again, but they'll have to add their own salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I'd make this again but serve it over some pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I loved this dish! I am vegetarian so used Quorn brand veggie crumbles, added some mozzarella, mushrooms and sliced red pepper. I disagree with those that said the onion didn't add anything to the recipe; I thought it was excellent. Of course, I sliced them quite thinly so maybe that made a difference. My roommate doesn't care much for eggplant and is not vegetarian and he still really liked this dish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This smelled fabulous as it was cooking. The meat and tomato sauce is delicious. My eggplant was bitter and sort of threw a wrench in things. I also did not care for the sliced onion that you put in the layers. It was overwhelming. I would leave it out or cook the rings until golden brown and soft and then throw them on. I really don't think they are necessary since there are two onions in the sauce. I love onions but it was overkill and my onions were on the small side. About the size of a large lemon. I followed the recipe exactly with two exceptions. I only had fresh parsley and I didn't realize we were out of parmesan until the last minute but used mozzarella instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I gave this 4 stars because I made changes. This is a great dish, true comfort food. We love eggplant so to start with I cut the slices thicker, at 1/4 inch they bake to mush, mine were 1/2 inch or a bit more. I also used my own marinara sauce and used a mix of ground beef and sweet Italian sausage. I skipped the onion slices in between the layers completely, they serve no real purpose and add nothing to the casserole. I used bread crumbs on top mixed with a hefty amount of good grated parmesan, in between the layers I added a nice layer of mozzarella and provolone cheese and no bread crumbs. I baked this for 45 minutes covered at 350, then uncovered for 20 at 400. 80-90 minutes in the oven as the recipe calls for is too long. It is unnecessary to salt and allow eggplant to sit to get rid of the bitter, especially when using a cooking method such as this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I loved this! Instead of parmesan cheese I used mozzerella and left out the bread crumbs. I used white eggplant which I salted for an hour and then rinsed before I used it. This was lunch for the week. I will defnitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I always read the reviews before I make something, to so what others have substituted or added. No one had tried Italian sausage. The people who said it had no flavor should try this! I had an eggplant handy, and had a taste for Italian sausage, and I find hamburger bland.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I also felt the meat sauce was very bland...added some seasoning salt and worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I've been trying for a couple of years to find a good recipe for eggplant and haven't been able to find anything worth cooking twice....until now. Hubby says this is a keeper recipe! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States