Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This was a big hit in my house. I made it exactly as stated, and my 4yo son gave me a thumbs up. Hubby and I made a few notes: We would make more of the chicken mixture and add a third layer to the casserole. We also love heat, so we would add either a spicy enchilada sauce or perhaps some jalapenos. Also, on top of the last layer of cheese: Green onion and black olives. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Love this recipe. I made just a few changes and it turned out just as good as any restaurant dish! First, instead of the cumin, coriander and cilantro, I substituted oregano, basil and parsley. Then I put canned tomatoes instead of the black beans and some tomato paste rather than using enchilada sauce. I did not have green chile peppers so I used 1 tablespoon of fresh diced garlic. My family isn't a huge fan of corn tortillas so we used some semolina-based pasta I had in the pantry and I topped with parmesan cheese, rather than the Mexican blend (more authentic, IMO). The only thing I omitted was the sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I made this for the second time tonight. I was not that crazy about it the first time. The changes I made were as follows: I added corn, Rotel tomatoes, one chopped onion and 7 ounces of diced green chilies. Instead of sour cream, I decided to use cottage cheese (approximately a cup and a half). It turned out much better this time. I thought it needed more spice so we generously added chunky salsa and topped it with plain yogurt. Next time, I will add some chili peppers or maybe some cayenne. Very high in protein and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Nampyeon
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Good. Used dried black beans pre-soaked and cooked instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I was searching for a good recipe to use up leftover chicken, and this one was perfect! My elderly 89 & 86 year old parents and the rest of the family loved it! It wasn't too spicy for them. It is an easy recipe to make and the leftovers are just as delicious. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Excellent! Substituted cream of mushroom for sour cream. Left out chili seasonings. Family lived it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is a very good recipe I used taco seasoning in place of the coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirlBrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thisizkim
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Added a full 7oz can of green chiles and used pre cooked chicken strips (chopped up) instead for convenience. Probably put about 3 cups worth of cheese in it. Served it with rice from a local burrito shop. Served it with cold sour cream for a nice refreshing hit! Delicious and super easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very good. I mixed the hot enchiladas sauce with mild . I toasted the tortillas as recommended by others and added sweet corn. Would have been good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was really good! It is easy to change according to what ingredients you have. I added a can of lime and cilantro rotel as I sauteed the chicken, as well as chopped onion and garlic, but I didn't have the coriander or cilantro. I also used much less cheese and sour cream. We also toast our tortillas on a frying pan before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States