Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
First, I would like to comment that if someone makes major changes to a recipe, I don't understand how they can give it a poor rating when they haven't even made the dish that was posted. I have made this several times and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
very delicious however I made some changes. I toasted the corn tortilla's on the oven sprayed w/ pam. Marinated the chicken w/ some garlic powder, salt and lime. Also chopped up some onion and garlic and added to the chicken when cooking. I spread light sour cream to the tortilla's as I was layering and also threw in some corn to the chicken/bean mixture. I also left out the coriander. VERY good :) will make again. I also doubled the recipe so I could freeze the leftovers. thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I changed this from four stars to five. I have made this several times. It's great for lunch the next day! My husband and I enjoyed this dish. I was craving Mexican food and it hit the spot. For my own personal taste I used 1/2 medium enchilada sauce and 1/2 hot enchilada sauce. Used light sour cream. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
YUM! This was soooo good! Tasted just like something from an authentic mexican restaurant. Everyone loved it including my two picky boys, this will be a regular dinner here from now on. Here's what I changed: First,I subsituted 1/2t of chili powder for the coriander, mixed the sour cream in with the chicken and added a can of (drained) sweet corn to the mixture. I ended up using double the amount of enchilada sauce, using 3/4 in the casseroll and the remaining sauce to top the individual pieces before serving. I used 6 8in. soft low-fat high fiber tortillas, baking them at 450 for about 5 minutes before use. I also used low-fat cheese and sour cream. Even with all low-fat ingredients this was very rich and did not taste low-fat at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I was looking for a recipe that I know my family would like but I needed something for the crock pot. So I used diced raw chicken indtead of cooking it first and just added the cuman and coriander to it the pot it in my crock pot and cooked it on low for about eight hours and it turned out great!! My husband is not a big fan of cassarole but he asked if we had any left overs the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I simmered the chicken breast with the cumin and coriander then I used canned green enchilada sauce and 3chopped green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I didn't have any black beans on hand so I made it with dark red kidney beans. I was completely surprised at how much I liked it, plus it is a lot easier than a from-scratch recipe I have for chicken enchiladas. I would highly recommend you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This is so good! Hubby and I both loved it. I used leftover grilled chicken, which made it so easy. Lightened it up a little with low fat cheese and sour cream (which I mixed together per other reviews). I also added some chili powder and tabasco chipotle to the chicken mix, and used whole wheat tortillas. Made during the day, and it still cooked up perfect in the specified time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This dish was easy to prepare and very good. I had it warmed over and it was just as tasty. I put the sour cream on top of it just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This was good. It is nice to have the chicken. So many mexican casseroles call for ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States