Layered Cheddar-Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Followed this almost 100% and was surprised it was so good. This was not sweet at all except for the natural sweetness of the fruit. The only thing the honey does is make the sour cream slightly less sour which is genius because you can add or remove as you like making it sweeter or more savory. I did add a few red raspberries on one layer having a few left which added a little more of a tart flavor. Perfect accompaniment to chicken and steak on the grill and was delicious the next day for lunch at work. Might be good without the lettuce though it does add great texture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Didn't have strawberries so used cherries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
we enjoyed this salad as a side dish to our easter feast. due to the time of year, i nixed the peaches and added mandarin oranges instead (to keep the orange color), and also added blackberries. i cut the cheese into cubes instead of using shredded cheddar, and for the dressing, used 1/3c each of light mayo, reduced fat sour cream, and fat free greek yogurt. using the lighter ingredients did not seem to have any adverse effect on the taste, as we all agreed it was cvery good, however it may have thinned it out a bit. overall a very delicious salad, that was a colorful and healthy addition to our easter dinner! thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was an okay salad. I didn't like the mayo based dressing though. This didn't have enough spices or other things to mask the mayo flavor for my tastes, but I am not a mayo fan. I doubt I'll make this again. Thanks anyway, it was fun trying out a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I found the dressing pungent and the salad got watery, my family hated it. I was worried about mayo and sour cream but tried it, and it was not so good. Maybe yogurt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARLEENC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Wonderful! All of my kids had extra helpings- a new favorite in our house. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I gave this 4 stars only because my husband was so so on it. My daughter and I loved it and will have it often. It looked so pretty in a glass bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Really good - refreshing combination. My family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Loved this-looks gorgeous served in a glass bowl-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
A good salad. I just made it at wrong time of the year. Strawberries and nectarines are just not very tasty this late in the season. I bet this will be delicious about next August.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States