Layered Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I made this recipe for a crew of men helping to build a house.They loved it.I've also made it for a new mom and she loved it. It's really good.However,I used more cheese than it called for and used dried pasta instead of fresh. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NJSS2000
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
The hubby & I thought this was great. I had some fresh pasta to use up so I decided to make this. I sprinkled more cheese on top than what it called for and used half a tablespoon of sugar. I also used Chive & Onion cream cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Very easy and very quick. Not quite as good as full-blown lasagna but much quicker. I also did not use fresh pasta and it turned out fine. I added some minced garlic and marinara seasoning to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
My toddler and I thought this recipe was great, although her dad was not overly impressed (doesn't care for cream cheese). He did eat it twice and said it was much better the second day. I added some spinach to the cream cheese layer to round it out and may add some zuchini next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Made this 3 times; once according to recipe, twice with my own adaptations.Was good every time but better with my additions. I found fusili pasta worked the best. On top of the cream cheese/sour cream layer I sprinkled a small can of sliced black olives and a small can of kernel corn (both drained). I also used more cheddar in the recipe and on top. It was more colourful and filling with the additions but my guests loved it both ways. Excellent recipe, however, prep and clean-up are time consuming. Good job it isn't served until next day. Gives you a chance to recover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
My family loved this!!! It was so easy to make and didn't take up too much time at all. I did not use fresh pasta and it was still great! I also used more cheese than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe. I took another person's advice and added olives and corn and that really made it special. Mine came out slightly dry, so I might try an extra small can of tomato sauce. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was pretty good but I felt it needed a little tweaking, which is why I gave it only three stars. The whole thing was a bit dry and think it's because there wasn't enough of the cheese/sour cream mixture for the noodles. Next time I will double the cheese part of the recipe or not use a full pound of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
YUM! Comfort food at its finest. Not as good as a lasagne, but I this can be put together in a flash. I used a bit more sauce and cheese as reviewers recommended, and I am glad I did. Otherwise, everything else stayed the same. Yummy, easy entree that kids will definitely adore! I didn't let it sit in the fridge overnight... I don't see the need to. BTW, I used wide egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was really good! I had read others suggestions and heres what I did. I used more cheddar cheese on both the bottom and the top, I used a large can of spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato sauce and I put a layer of sliced olives on top of the cream cheese/sour cream mixture. The result was so yummy! I do admit though that leftovers are even BETTER so I think next time I will cook it the day before I want to serve it, then put it in the fridge and reheat it the following day. Pure comfort food that you and your family will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States