Lavender Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
LOVED THEM! Except for being too fatning, they are perfect! I didn't make them as pretty as in the photo, just rolled a log and sliced, like some other folks, but it didn't diminish their flavour! Great for sharing wth friends, if you are watching your figure! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanti77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Oh my goodness, where do I start with these cookies, they really are so delicious. Firstly it was my first time to ever cook with Lavender (I have looked at several recipes for months but only today finally plucked up the courage to try it). I used Dried French Lavender that I brought from Penzey’s. I didn’t have fresh mint so substituted for ½ teaspoon of dried mint that I crushed down and ½ teaspoon of mint extract. I followed the recipe exactly and baked on a silpat mat. I cut the cookies and then placed the baking sheet back in to the fridge for a further 10 minutes. I topped with Silver sugar and baked in the oven for 16 minutes. The key to good Shortbread is not to roll the dough too thin and also do not overcook, once cooled they will become crisp on their own. I had no problem at all with the cookies spreading. They came out of the oven perfect and the fragrance in the house was heavenly…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Crisp and buttery and delicious! I just wanted a hint of lavender, so I decreased it to 1 tablespoon dried lavender. That was still a bit strong, so next time I might just do 1/2 T. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
The shortbread part was awesome, but I was not crazy about the lavender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Quiring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These cookies were okay. The taste of butter overwhelmed the taste of lavender, mint, and lemon zest. I thought the taste would be more complex due to the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I left out the mint and added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. I put the granulated sugar and 1 1/2 Tbls of dried lavender into my blender and blended for a few seconds. I rolled the cookies into logs, refrigerated, then sliced and baked. I also heavily sprinkled purple sugar on the top before baking. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I (the author) have also used dried lavender and mint. Use about half of the amount of the fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryeileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Nice flavor however my husband couldn't get past the soap taste. He was tasting what he would normally smell. But I did enjoy the cookie with tea. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These had a lovely, complex flavor that my children really enjoyed. My only criticism is that because of the moisture from the fresh herbs, these don't keep as long as regular shortbread cookies, so if you're not planning to eat them all within a day or two, freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Delicious! I would have never thought to add mint to lavender cookies- great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbridges
Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States