Lavender Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Amazing recipe - the only thing that I recommend is topping the cookies with sea salt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
These are perfect. I did not happen to have any fresh mint the first time I made these, so I omitted it. The second time, I added it. Both batches were absolutely delightful, so don't fret if you're missing the mint. Otherwise, don't change a thing about this recipe. Also, to be quick, I just divided the dough into two balls, formed them into logs, wrapped in plastic and chilled into the refrigerator. When fully chilled (about 45 mins) I cut into 1/4 inch slices and put directly onto the cookie sheet. 18 1/2 minutes later they emerged from the oven with perfectly golden edges. If you love shortbread biscuits, you won't be disappointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Received rave reviews during a lavender themed tea party that I gave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
These were great! I used 2 tsp dried lavender, since I didn't have any fresh. I also left the mint out, since I'm not a huge fan. I had to run out for a while, so I ended up leaving it wrapped in the fridge for about 8 hours. I was worried that the flavor would be too much, but it was perfect! I'm definitely going to keep with recipe as my shortbread to use in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMDMD

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I love this recipe! Did not have fresh mint so increased the lemon zest and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious and pretty. I'm impatient so I didn't chill it for an hour, but it was still fine, I just put a little more flour when I was rolling it out to combat the stickiness. I also sifted a little powdered sugar over mine at the end (though it was purely for looks, and it really didn't need the extra sweetness.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Loved this recipe! Made this for a get together and they were a huge hit! Only had 3 fresh flowers in my garden so I used those and 1 T of dried blossoms. Followed the recipe as is - no spreading of cookies. Chilled dough in 2 logs for an hour + and sliced them. MMMMMMMM! House smelled SO yummy! Will definitely make again - may even enter them in the county fair since they are so different. Not a dense shortbread, but one that almost melts in your mouth, very light and crisp! THANK YOU for the recipe! Oh, I did keep an eye on them and they were ready within about 12 - 15 minutes. I may have sliced them thinner. Just make sure you pull them out when the edges begin to color and they'll be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
3 stars for idea, I had looked forward to make this for a long time as I have a lavender bush in my herb garden. However, I used the base recipe for Rosemary shortbread, divided it in half and did half rosemary, half with 1 tbsp lavendar, 1/2 tbsp mint, and 1/2 tsp lemon. I didn't measure the lemon, but I know it was less than a 1/2 and I thought it was too strong. Will likely try it again without the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
LOVED THEM! Except for being too fatning, they are perfect! I didn't make them as pretty as in the photo, just rolled a log and sliced, like some other folks, but it didn't diminish their flavour! Great for sharing wth friends, if you are watching your figure! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanti77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Oh my goodness, where do I start with these cookies, they really are so delicious. Firstly it was my first time to ever cook with Lavender (I have looked at several recipes for months but only today finally plucked up the courage to try it). I used Dried French Lavender that I brought from Penzey’s. I didn’t have fresh mint so substituted for ½ teaspoon of dried mint that I crushed down and ½ teaspoon of mint extract. I followed the recipe exactly and baked on a silpat mat. I cut the cookies and then placed the baking sheet back in to the fridge for a further 10 minutes. I topped with Silver sugar and baked in the oven for 16 minutes. The key to good Shortbread is not to roll the dough too thin and also do not overcook, once cooled they will become crisp on their own. I had no problem at all with the cookies spreading. They came out of the oven perfect and the fragrance in the house was heavenly…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States