Lavender Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
These are were a most delicious shortbread cookie! I used dried lavender, zest of one medium sized lemon, and a sprinkle of dried mint. They were easy to make and too easy to eat! The batter did sit, unfinished - waiting for the dry ingredients for many hours. Then I completed batter, refrigerated and baked the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I LOVE these cookies. They are absolutely delicious, and everyone around me loves them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Schrader

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made these cookies for a tea party. The recipe did not call for unsalted butter, so I used salted plus the 1/4 teasp. salt. I think overall the cookies were buttery and good and the lavendar really added a nice, interesting flavor, but after they cooled you could really taste the salt. So only suggestion is to use unsalted butter. Also, I didn't use the mint and used fresh lavendar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I had to add more flour for my cutouts to keep their shape crisply, but the recipe was an excellent starting point. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Excellent and easy. Very short. The lemon is just right with the lavender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These were easy to make and tasty but they tasted more like chamomile tea and just lemon and lavender. I halved the recipe and rolled into logs and sliced before baking and I still netted about 4 dozen 3" cookies. I will make again but I think I'll add more lemon and lavender and leave out the mint (the mint was really good but I think it's what made them taste like chamomile).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Made as written except omitted mint. Rolled into logs and cut. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Love this recipe. I take dried lavender and put it in sugar in a sealed container and let the lavender flavor seep into the sugar for a couple of weeks, so I use dried vs fresh. But I do agree with others, more lemon zest, a little less mint leaves. But this cookie has layers of flavors as you eat it. Have come back and used this recipe a few times. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe was easy to make and turned out well. I omitted the mint and added some lemon juice. As with other reviews I rolled the dough in a log instead using cookie cutters. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REf
Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These are great and very easy to make, I did use fresh lavender from my yard and had to use a coffee mill to grind it up, I used a microplane to zest a whole large lemon, and omitted the mint. I refrigerated it in one lump in a bowl and then chilled it for 3-4 hours and used the large end of a melon baller to scoop out rounds and left them round on the airbake cookie sheet without flattening them out. They came out fantastic! Very subtle, I'd probably use more lavender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States