Lavender Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I too love lavender, and these bars were great! I know a lot of people don't consider lavender something used for food, but i LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
very easy to make and very, very good. Had my daughter and her friends taste them. Raves for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Tasty, but I do prefer a higher filling to crust ratio. I left out the lemon extract as it was optional, skipped the additional half teaspoon of lavender buds and used sweet almond oil instead of coconut oil. I used freshly squeezed lemon juice (3 lemons) and the zest from all them too. I think the extra lavender would've been too much for these bars. Without it, they have a nice floral undertone that makes them taste very light and spring-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These were awesome! The hint of lavender with the lemon was great. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eureka, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
really interesting recipe. I didn't have coconut oil so I used all butter... I had a pack of dried lavender I had purchased at the grocery store some time ago and finally found a use for it. I like the flavor.. bonus.. when this was baking the house smelled wonderful! I also added a zest of one lemon instead of the extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I'm fortunate to live in an area where there is a lavender farm, so lavender is easily obtained. If you make this recipe, be sure to use only lavender that has been grown for use in cooking. It will be pesticide free and organic. That is very important so that no poisons are ingested. This is a nice, light recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a nice change from the usual lemon bars. I used an 8 x 8 pan and had to cook both stages a little longer. But this helped make a denser bar, which I prefer. I also used egg substitute instead of whole eggs. The color wasn't that great so I added three drops of yellow food coloring. I did not really like the bigger pieces of lavender in the lemon base. In fact, mine kind of migrated toward the middle instead of being evenly distributed throughout the egg mixture. So I would suggest grinding them up with a mortar and pestle or a small food processor. I also added the zest of a lemon. Wasn't sure how the kids would like this, but they did. They are used to eating lavender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
These were very good. I have an essential oil company. If you don't like the texture of the lavender buds, you can add a couple of drops of high quality lavender essential oil to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pauls Valley, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I loved the addition of lavender, it goes perfectly with lemon. I tend to like my lemon bars more on the tart side than the sweet. I added 2 additional teaspoons of lavender buds to the sugar, and used 1/2 cup less sugar than stated in the recipe in the lemon portion. And I did not add the powdered sugar on top. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States