Lavender Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I am an experienced cook (over 50 years) but this recipe was not good. They were too dry and flour-tasting. Since I had to make them for my Garden Club presentation, I made them three times with changes. The third time the cookies were great with my changes: 2 tablespoons dried lavender instead of the 1 tablespoon fresh flowers, and I increased the egg to two and the sugar to 2/3 cup instead of the 1/2 cup. It made 40 cookies. I got lots of compliments on the cookies with my revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Ruidoso, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
When I read the first review, I couldn't understand how someone could think this is a bad recipe. I think it is a matter of taste. This is not your conventional cookie recipe. Not many people bake with lavender. I used 1 heaping tbs dried lavender instead of fresh and it was perfect. The cookies have a wonderful flavor. I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
The lavender one uses really will make a difference in these cookies. I went to my local organic grocer, and they were fantastic. I rolled the dough into small balls and then flattened them on the cookie sheet using my palm, then sprinkled purple sugar on top before baking. Nothing will stick to them after baking. They were delicate, light, and complex-flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This recipe is wonderful, it is sweet, floral, and light and feathery. I used a pinch less than 1 Tbs of flowers, and used only colored sugar on top. ( I sprinkled the sugar before entering the oven, to make sure it adheres to the cookie) in the recipe i noticed too it was a little dry, even for a shortbread recipe, i added 1 tsp vanilla to mellow out the lavender as well as to compliment the lovely scent of the flower. Next time I am going to use vanilla scented sugar ontop the cookies. You can make your own vanilla sugar by placing a vanilla bean in a gallon size bag, or canister of sugar, let set for a week or two, and use in your recipes accordingly. Over all this was an absolutely delicious recipe, even my 5 year old son loved them as well as my picky husband. it's a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
My friends and I absolutely love this recipe! It's savory, sweet, and delicious. Perfect with milk or tea. I grow my own lavender, which doesn't flower, so I substitute finely chopped leaves with equally delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
I think the recipe was good, but had a little too much lavender in it. It almost tasted medicinal. Lavender is a strong herb and is best used sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was a great recipe, simple and just what I was looking for ever since I had lavender cookies at the Farmer's Market in Davis, CA. I used Earth Balance instead of butter since I don't eat dairy, and the Earth Balance added some salt. The flavor was delicious. I think the lavender you use makes a big difference. I used a handful of fresh buds and blooms from the Lavender Lady I have growing in my garden. It was not medicinal at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
The cookies were extremely easy to make and taste wonderful, they're light and fluffy for a cookie, too. Every one in my family loved them, but they don't keep well and quickly lose they're great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I tried these last year, and although I love lavender, these were doughy and not what I would call "flavorful". I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
These are delightful. They smell great, and taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States