Lavender Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These cookies were wonderful, light and flowery. I followed the directions, but rolled them into little balls and flattened them with the bottom of a glass on the cookie sheet. When they were cool, I spread a glaze of confectioners sugar and a little water, and then sprinkled with easter sprinkles. My family really enjoyed them. I think I'll try the same recipe and substitute anise seed for the lavender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I thought these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Incredible! Like an amazingly fluffy sugar cookie! My dad doesn't like sugar cookies, but he liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I was so disappointed. I followed some of the other suggestions and added 1 tsp vanilla, rolled it, placed in the refrigerator, sliced and baked. It turned out so dry, even with reduced time. I can see how others found it too "crumbly" as a dropped cookie. I did like that it was less sweet and with one tbsp fresh lavender and 1 teaspoon dried it had a subtle flavor, but it was more a biscuit than cookie. I won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These cookies turned out perfect! They aren't supposed to be more than a sugar cookie with a hint of a flowery texture. I sprinkled the top with plain white sugar, baked them and served with a purple napkin. Makes a perfect pairing with tea and is a very pretty cookie. Although, I did substitute fresh blossoms for dried and it made them so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Delicious! I agree with the review below - those changes were spot on. I like a heavier lavender flavor but it is easy enough to change that per your taste. I made a couple alterations of my own. I refrigerated the dough an hour before. Then I made dough balls, flattened them into appx 1/8" thick discs and sprinkled the top with a superfine sugar. However - If you do this, you will need to reduce baking time to 9 or 10 minutes. Cookies are best just as or just before they start to brown on the bottom. Will be flaky and crispy and not too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Myself and everyone I have had try these cookies absolutely love them!!! It's just the right amount of lavender taste. I have found that you can add just about any type of edible flower to this recipe as well, jasmine flowers have been my favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
When I read the first review, I couldn't understand how someone could think this is a bad recipe. I think it is a matter of taste. This is not your conventional cookie recipe. Not many people bake with lavender. I used 1 heaping tbs dried lavender instead of fresh and it was perfect. The cookies have a wonderful flavor. I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
These were okay. I doubled the lavender in the cookies and thought that was just right. The cookies themselves were very dry. I would try adding lavender to a sugar cookie based. I just don't care for dry biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHYUMMERS!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These would be good little shortbread cookies even without the lavendar flowers. The lavendar was a little strong, so I would reduce it next time. But it was a beautiful summer cookie and a wonderful picnic cookie as well. It woudl be wonderful with come course sugar on top to add some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States